Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Runewars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Using Mobilize Bonus to Destroy Routed Units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shawn Curlis
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Question is can you use the supremacy bonus of the Mobilize card to destroy another palyers units that are all routed?

Situation: Player 1 attacks and routs all of Player 2's units. Player 2 retreats to a vacant hex that is surronded by unactivated hexes with Player 1's units. Then Player 1 uses the Supremacy Bonus of the Mobilize card to activate the hex Player 2 just retreated to and wipes them out. Basically destroying the force that was just forced to retreat.

Now I know that you can not start a battle with the bonus but is this really a battle? Previously routed units do not even leave the hex if a battle breaks out. I think that this is still technically a battle and can not be done.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, attacking an area with only routed opponents, or even an area with NO enemy units but a stronghold, is considered a battle. You would draw cards for your side as normal (some of the units have effects that matter, but in any case it does affect the fate deck overall).

Thus, if you attack one area, and retreat a lot of the opponents units, you won't be able to finish off those units with the same Mobilize order.

Plus, you never know - they could have a Rally Cry card and stand up some of their routed units; if it wasn't a battle before, it certainly would be now, and then it gets messy!
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tiago Nunes
Portugal
Odivelas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it is still a battle even though the routed units can't attack so this can't be done.

Edit: got here to late, what Scott said
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Curlis
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Excellent! Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew
United States
flag msg tools
mbmb
Also please note that it is not that you can't start a battle with the supremacy bonus, it is that you cannot start TWO battles with one mobilize order. You could, for instance, attempt diplomacy and then fight, in that order.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed. And if you started a battle with your first order, you COULD attempt diplomacy with your second movement; but if you end up with the "bad" Destiny result, instead of fighting the neutrals you will have to retreat!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mateo jurasic
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
attacking an empty enemy kingdon hex is sort of considered combat, as you can't strategize units into it, but you could mobilize or conquor into it, and its NOT considered a battle.

The player with the routed units you want to destroy could also play a lightning card to damage your guys at the start of battle...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mateooo wrote:
attacking an empty enemy kingdon hex is sort of considered combat, as you can't strategize units into it.

Well, it's not really considered combat, it's just not considered a friendly or empty area by definition (as home realms are never considered "empty")
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
martin moran
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I assume its legal to use the supremacy bonus of a mobilise order to battle neutral troops who were forced to retreat if you attempted diplomacy with them and got the middle fate card symbol?

On an unrelated note I have a question concerning the summer season card The Sacred Portals. Do units which were activated and moved into an area with an activation token during spring still count as activated if they were forced to retreat and are no longer present in the area where the token is?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew
United States
flag msg tools
mbmb
Activated units are units in an area with an activation marker. If they were forced to retreat from an area with an activation marker to an area without one, they would no longer be activated (they would be routed, however). I am not sure how the card reads, but if it just says "unactivated units" then those routed figures would be eligible.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dushty wrote:
I assume its legal to use the supremacy bonus of a mobilise order to battle neutral troops who were forced to retreat if you attempted diplomacy with them and got the middle fate card symbol?

In that case, it's not really a battle - they are just retreating, and not all retreating comes from battles. So yes, if you did a Diplomacy attempt, and got the "neutral" result, the neutrals would retreat, no problem. It doesn't count as one of your two battles allowed.

Quote:
On an unrelated note I have a question concerning the summer season card The Sacred Portals. Do units which were activated and moved into an area with an activation token during spring still count as activated if they were forced to retreat and are no longer present in the area where the token is?

Only the token matters in terms of what is/isn't activated. You don't have to keep track of individual units.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.