Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

The Napoleonic Wars (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Too many armies, not enough leaders rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kris Van Beurden
Belgium
Leuven
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens if a duchy is attacked and there are not enough leaders to lead all the forces present there?

For example, a 1-4 leader is defending a duchy with 6 units. What happens? Does he defend with the maximum army he can command, and the 2 superfluous units cannot act?
Does he defend with the maximum army he can command, and the 2 other units can act in the 2nd round of combat, replacing killed or disrupted units?
Does he defend beyond the maximum army he can command (army limit only limits the movement of armies, not the defense of duchies)?

Now, what if this is a 1-4 leader with four of his units, and 2 units of an allied Power (not pact-bound minor) ... what happens now? He cannot form an Army Group, because there is no leader to be a Staff Officer of the 2nd army. The units can also not replace his units if taken as casualties, because the leader cannot control allied units in his army.
Does this invoke the rule that if no Army Group can be created, these troops all defend together, but there is 0 leadership?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffan O'Sullivan
United States
Plymouth
NH
flag msg tools
"To be honorable and just is our only defense against men without honor or justice." -Diogenes of Sinope
badge
I simply walk into Mordor.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Everybody defends - no leaders needed at all, in fact. You can have 3 Prussians, 4 Russians, and 2 minor allied Turkish units in a space, and you'd roll 10 dice (9 for units, 1 for being more than 50% major power), plus any road or card-granted bonus.

A 1-4 leader in such a space still gets his leader bonus - it doesn't matter that he can't lead everyone.

It's only in attacking that you're limited by your leaders - or unit size.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.