Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Dungeon Lords» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 or 3 Player Games: Do dummy players get the starting player marker? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
The Galaxy is Just Packed!
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a 2 or 3 player game, we have been playing that the dummy boards can receive the starting player marker (and even be the game's first player).

We see no reason why this is not correct, and several reasons why the game would suffer if it was not correct.

But we just can't find the clarifying rule.

Does that clarifier exist anywhere, and is anyone not playing this way?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm quite sure the dummy boards don't get the starting marker. In fact, it wouldn't make much sense, and in a three player game would let the player situated after the dummy board go first more often.

The dummy board minions are all placed before regular minions, and the dummy board always counts as nicer when determining which heroes the players get, so the dummy board's order never ever matters.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Galaxy is Just Packed!
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
StormKnight wrote:
The dummy board minions are all placed before regular minions...


THERE is the clarifier I was looking for! We were missing that rule, which I found in the rulebook:

Quote:
Take the 3 non-player Minion Fig- ures and place them on space II...


Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was wondering if that might be the case
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Edwards
United States
Everett
Washington
flag msg tools
YA R'LYAH
badge
Phnglui mglw nafh Cthulhu R'lyeh wgah nagl fhtagn! With cheeze!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, we messed up both the dummy player getting the start marker, and the fact that they get placed out first, on the II position, entirely.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.