Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Runewars» Forums » Rules

Subject: More than 8 units after a battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pelein de Cratia
Spain
Guayota City
Nivaria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,
If I have more than 8 units after a battle that I win, what can I do with the "excess" of units? Retreat or destroy? (Card used before that battle: "Mobilize")
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon
United States
Christiansburg
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Play more Inis
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pelein wrote:
Hi,
If I have more than 8 units after a battle that I win, what can I do with the "excess" of units? Retreat or destroy? (Card used before that battle: "Mobilize")


page 18 says:

Quote:

The only time a player can exceed this number is when he is starting
a battle in an enemy or neutral area, in which case he may bring any
number of units into the battle. If he wins the battle, any excess
units must retreat to a single area (see “Retreats” on page 22).


They're free to retreat to a legal area.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pelein de Cratia
Spain
Guayota City
Nivaria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
solomon english
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
if you run into this scenario and both players need to retreat, who retreats first ?

Ie.. if player 1 attacks a hex with player 2 on it and brings 11 guys. Player 1 wins with all 11 guys and player 2 has to route 3 guys. Who gets to pick a hex to retreat to first ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say the defender goes first in that situation.

In the Battle Sequence, 6a is where the loser retreats. 6d is where the winner puts his surviving units back on the board. Though it doesn't directly say it, I would interpret this as being the time when the attacker's excess units (assuming he was the winner) would retreat.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the attacker wins and has 10 units, 4 of them routed after battle, attacker has to retreat 2 units to reach 8 limit so CAN attacker retreat 2 routed units or he MUST retreat 2 standing units?

If the attacker lose he retreats ALL his units routed or not in a single, friendly if possible, area and all units lie downcool right?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob
Austria
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mb
mythos999 wrote:
If the attacker wins and has 10 units, 4 of them routed after battle, attacker has to retreat 2 units to reach 8 limit so CAN attacker retreat 2 routed units or he MUST retreat 2 standing units?

If the attacker lose he retreats ALL his units routed or not in a single, friendly if possible, area and all units lie downcool right?



1) you can pick 2 routed ones but also think about that:

"Units that were just routed during this battle may retreat (this
is an exception to the rule that routed figures may not move)."

so you can also retreat all 4 of em


2) right
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Remember that if there IS a friendly area adjacent, you MUST retreat there, even if it would cause you to overstack (you must then destroy the excess). By rule, you can only retreat to an "empty" are if there are NO friendly areas.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.