Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael J
United States
Folsom
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So far my initial plays of solo DT2 have more than met my expectations (if expectations include losing badly). I'm 2 solo games in, and I've lost both. In fact, I've gotten my butt kicked. I've gone from being confident that I could outthink this game to thinking about my next game's strategy as I sleep. I'm a DT newbie, so I don't have much experience to draw from, but right now, the NPC behavior is certainly more aggressive than I expected, and I'm reeling from two impressive whoopings.

In my first game, I had the run of the board for the first 3 room tiles that I opened. I thought, "this is EASY!" I only found 2 enemies during this time, and both were placed behind doors that they couldn't open without a key. I was able to move my characters about without any resistance, and managed to pick up every object on the first 3 boards. Then I opened board 4, and revealed another enemy character. I moved a few more of my characters, and then on the new enemy character's turn, he revealed 2 rooms. That opened more enemies, who then revealed another 2 rooms. By the end of the turn, 4 new rooms were opened, and the enemy unleashed a wave of destruction. From that point on, it was a hard fought battle, for which the NPC won 5-3, including a nifty escape across his own back line from a character that could escape in either direction.