Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Maria» Forums » Rules

Subject: Political cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Grant LaDue
United States
Tonawanda
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just want to check something.

When you "play" a political card that has effects two different tracks, do you *have* to perform an action on both tracks, or can you just use one of them? The rules seem to indicate that you have the option of only doing one, but I wanted to double check.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brigitte Haas
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You may execute one, both, or neither (in which case you conserve your card).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Schwarz
United States
Tucker
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Knit4VPs wrote:
You may execute one, both, or neither (in which case you conserve your card).


An unpicked card does not happen. If you pick a card, you spend the TCs. So if you are last and don't want the card to happen, you can conserve. However, if you are early and don't want a politics card to happen, you must spend your TCs or risk a later player activating the card.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
richard sivel
Germany
berlin
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
The answers are correct.

The rules seem to me pretty clear. From the rulebook:
"Some cards allow shifting of markers on two tracks; in such cases, a player can shift the marker on none, one, or both of the tracks."

The basic idea is that you may execute a political card completely, partially or not at all.

The exception is that if there is a 2-stepper-card (that is 2 arrows in one direction) you cannot make it a 1-stepper. You can play it as a 2-stepper or deny the movement of the marker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Colburn
United Kingdom
Glasgow
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
rsivel wrote:
The basic idea is that you may execute a political card completely, partially or not at all.

Hang on... that's not quite how we play. If the political card has an effect beyond moving a marker, I thought it wasn't optional. So, for example, if you select the War of Jenkins' Ear, you must do one of the following:

(1) Discard it without any effect

(2) Reduce France's TC income for a turn and move the Italy marker one space in either direction

(3) Reduce France's TC income for a turn.

It was our understanding of the rules that you are NOT permitted to move the Italy marker without also reducing France's TC. Is that not correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Luta
United States
Henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That is indeed not correct. Political cards may have any, all, or none of the events of each line played by whichever player gets it. This is part of the strategy, for example early on the Prussia player really wants to move the Saxony alliance marker to the left, but usually does not much care what happens with the Italy marker...But, the other players do, and so agreements can be made for activation (or not) of the political events.

For example, if Prussia has a card which can move the Russia marker in favour of Prussia, and move Italy against Austria, and the Austrian player gets a card that same turn which moves Russia against Prussia, a logical diplomatic move is for the Prussian player to agree to not put into effect the move of Italy against Austria, if Austria agrees to not use their card to counter the Prussian move of the Russia marker. Of course, Prussia would want to make this offer only after the Austria player has committed to taking the political card, otherwise Austria is likely to conserve TC, rather than take a political card which they will not use.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
richard sivel
Germany
berlin
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
Quote:
So, for example, if you select the War of Jenkins' Ear, you must do one of the following:

(1) Discard it without any effect

(2) Reduce France's TC income for a turn and move the Italy marker one space in either direction

(3) Reduce France's TC income for a turn.

It was our understanding of the rules that you are NOT permitted to move the Italy marker without also reducing France's TC. Is that not correct?


Ooohhh.... yes, now I see that the rules were not written too precise in this point. They should have been written as:

If the power selecting a Political Card decides to execute it, then:
* follow the instruction on it; and/OR
* shift the marker on the Italy, Russia, and/or Saxony
track according to the depicted arrows.

(The "or" at the end of the first bullet makes it more precise.)

So, to answer your question explicitly: The rules as written indeed do not allow to move the Italy marker without reducing France's TC.

The rules as INTENDED allow for the movement; the reduction of France's TC is optional. (Typically, if France moves the marker to its favour, it will not reduce its TCs.)

[The reason for this bad written rule is that the card "War of Jenkins' ear" was changed after the rules were written. I forgot to adapt the rules accordingly.)




Quote:
Of course, Prussia would want to make this offer only after the Austria player has committed to taking the political card, otherwise Austria is likely to conserve TC, rather than take a political card which they will not use.


No, you cannot make an offer of what to do with your card AFTER another player has picked a card. The moment you pick a card you must decide what to do. Of course you can negotiate with Austria in such a way that Austria (which has the next choice) picks a card and discards it. Your offer is to discard the Italy-move of your card.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.