Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hugh Cowan
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I am new to Railways of the World, and in fact all other incarnations of this game -- basically the only train game I have played before is "Ticket to Ride" (I know, it's not considered a train game, but I do like it).

After playing a couple of basic games using the Mexico map, I have a couple of questions.

1. Crossover track:

In the rules it states that you cannot remove a track once placed, but can you convert an existing section of track to a crossover one (which could be deemed as removing?).

Otherwise, I am not sure when you would place a crossover section as you usually don't know ahead of time if you want to cross routes or not.

2. Full vs Partial Hexagons:

In the rules it talks about only being able to lay track in complete hexagons, with an example showing Chicago. But it doesn't indicate in the rules whether that example is actually allowed or not.

In the Mexico map (which is the only one we have used so far), there are a number of hexagons on the coast, that appear to be partial (they are half land / half ocean), but there is a complete red hexagon enclosing that space -- does this mean that I can lay track in that space, even though it is not all land, but because it contains a complete hexagon?

3. I noticed on the Mexico map that there is a section / legend on the map that talks about "Major Routes" (can't remember the exact wording as I don't have the board in front of me), but in the rules it makes no mention of this. It would appear that if you have / own one of the routes listed you would get bonus victory points?

If so, are they given when the route is complete, or only at the end of the game?

Thanks so much for any help or additional information.

Hugh,

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Brokaw
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
It's not a damn moped!
mbmbmbmbmb
hcowan wrote:
1. Crossover track: