JEREMY WILHM
United States
EDMOND
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
badge
Insert clever phrase here.
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been using this site for over 7 years, and for all that time that I've been here the #1 ranked game has either been Puerto Rico or Agricola. (unless you count the time that Monkey Auto Races briefly held the top spot... hee hee).

My question is does anyone remember what the first #1 ranked game was here on BGG? I've poked around the site some and can't find any info, but I was curious to know if during the first couple of years on BGG many different games vied for the top spot, or was their just one game that Puerto Rico dethroned in 2002?

It's the whole BGG 10th anniversary that got me thinking about this. I'm just curious to see if anyone remembers, or if there is a way to find out this info.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse Miller
United States
Gettysburg
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Punk Rock Warlord
mbmbmbmbmb
If I remember rightly, Princes of Florence was at the top when I first started coming around.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Tigris & Euphrates was #1 prior to Puerto Rico
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CHAPEL
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
"that's a smith and wesson, and you've had your six"
mbmbmbmbmb
I remember the day when Risk was #1. Oh way back in the Board Game Geek BBS days. Those were the sweet days. And we walked 10 miles in the snow to play Risk. Whipper snappers. Get off my lawn!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Gola
United States
Redding
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
and everything under the sun is in tune
mbmbmbmbmb
I think I started visiting regularly in 2002, and as I recall, Tigris & Euphrates was the #1 game for quite some time. It was kind of a big deal when Puerto Rico took it down.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffan O'Sullivan
United States
Plymouth
NH
flag msg tools