Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Crusader Rex» Forums » Rules

Subject: Set-up, storm, map questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just a few quick questions:

1. What is the exact order of initial deployment with respect to placing blocks on the board? For example, does the Saracen player get to see his initial draw of four blocks before deciding where to place Saladin? Also, is the exchange of Saladin with another block during initial deployment secret or known to the Frank player?

2. Four blocks storm defending units in a castle and eliminate the defenders in round one. Reserves for both sides then arrive. It has been established elsewhere that, since the attackers eliminated the defenders in the first round, the attackers can take refuge in the castle to defend. However, does the withdrawal into the castle occur before combat (similar to the "before combat" withdrawal before the 1st round), or are the new defenders forced to withdraw block-by-block during the second combat round?

[To me, the "start in castle immediately" argument makes sense, since: a) when any attacker first arrives in a defense-controlled location, the original defenders have the immediate option of withdrawing into the castle before combat, and b) with the original attacker becoming the new defender - even though it is now round 2 - the arriving reserves situation is exactly the same as "a".]

3. Is the heraldry on the map at Margat (in Antioch) a typo? Since that heraldry belongs to Hospitallers, those blocks never go to the draw pool. And Margat is not in the same kingdom (Tripoli) as the others with this heraldry, so it can't act as an alternate seat. Or is it that the kingdom boundary for Tripoli should be drawn above (and therefore include) Margat - in which case Margat would be an alternate seat for Hospitallers in Tripoli?

Thanks for your help.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Johnson
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wkover wrote:
1. What is the exact order of initial deployment with respect to placing blocks on the board?


This is undefined, but I believe the Saracen gets see what nomad blocks he draws before deciding whether to swap Saladin or not, and doesn't need to announce whether he swapped Saladin.

wkover wrote:
2. ... does the withdrawal into the castle occur before combat (similar to the "before combat" withdrawal before the 1st round), or are the new defenders forced to withdraw block-by-block during the second combat round?


Also undefined by the rules. There's a similar situation with retreat after change of battlefield control - do the original attackers, now defenders retreat as attackers (only via roads they attacked from) or as defenders (to any friendly or uncontrolled town).

To me the rules as written allow only the original defender to retreat into the castle before combat, since the option is available only before a battle starts and it's still the same battle going on. But a conceptual case can be made either way, depending upon what exactly a battle is supposed to represent - is it one setpiece battle, or a series of battles and skirmishes over a longer period of time?

wkover wrote:
3. Is the heraldry on the map at Margat (in Antioch) a typo? Since that heraldry belongs to Hospitallers, those blocks never go to the draw pool. And Margat is not in the same kingdom (Tripoli) as the others with this heraldry, so it can't act as an alternate seat. Or is it that the kingdom boundary for Tripoli should be drawn above (and therefore include) Margat - in which case Margat would be an alternate seat for Hospitallers in Tripoli?


That's a rules change artifact - rules version 1.1 let Frank blocks set up in alternate seats anywhere on the map, but this was apparently too free; rules version 1.2 let them only set up in alternate seats in the same kingdom.

Don't have the map here to look at and am going just by memory - but isn't Marat available as an alternate seat for the block that starts at Krak des Chevaliers? If a kingdom boundary does separate them, then indeed there isn't much use for Marat now, and the heraldry symbol is pure decoration.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Buccheri
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
If you love America, you through money in it's hole!!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) I believe that Saladin exchange takes place before Saacens Block Draw. Also the Saracens Block Draw need to be placed in their home seats. You can't opt to place them in a friendy town at a strength 1 as a bluff like you can later during the Draw Phase. This is how I would play it, but agree that this could be clearer in the rules.

2) Battles only have one "Before Combat" step that allows Blocks to withdraw without revealing. Once they are eliminated in round 1, since the Combat sequence has already started, the new defending blocks would withdraw during thier respective Combat Rating A/B/C.

3) This is answered in the FAQ you just posted.

Tweaks

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.