Josh Street
United States
Mount Pleasant
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Currently very likely to either be roleplaying or planning to roleplay
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm assuming the answer to this is "no", but can you put multiple white cubes on a noble to protect from multiple bribe attempts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Farrell
Australia
Rozelle
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Averagely Inadequate
badge
Buster Keaton from 'Go West'
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Multiple White Cubes?
No. In my copy of the rules, under Bribery, it says "Note that once one player has played a black Bribe Cude and removed a white Cube from that Personality, any subsequent players who plays a black Cube on this same Personality will be successful."
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Hawes
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Multiple White Cubes?
John has correctly quoted the rules, but during playtesting we did try allowing multiple white and black bribe cubes. We opted in the end for only allowing one of each for a couple of reasons: We wanted to see nobles, at times, change sides. With 2 white cubes allowed nobles seemed to be too well protected, it would cost 40 pounds to place 2 black cubes on a 10 strength noble and players were not willing to risk it, when there was a chance the noble may have 2 white cubes on it. When one player is winning by a good margin, it must be possible to bribe a noble away from him and this happens more frequently under the current rules.

We also wanted to encourage calculated risks: with just 1 white defensive cube allowed, 2 players may well place a black cube on a winning player's noble and then they can be assured of a succesful betrayal. This is only fitting if the Lancastrian partners pay 20 pounds each to take Neville from a Yorkist player, they should be rewarded. Remember that no tactics may be discussed between players, so these 2 Lancastrians would independently have to figure on bribing this same noble. All the more reason that if it occurs, it should go ahead.

This being said, I think players could allow multiple white or black cubes to be used on a single noble, as a variation, to see how it plays. Some playtesters even suggested that 1 white cube is the maximum but 2 black cubes can be placed on a noble. Then you know if you spend enough money, success is assured, but at quite a cost. Each of these rules gives a slightly different type of game, we just felt the final bribery rules gave the best play, but nothing wrong with experimenting, as we did.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Young
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
Old Ways Are Best!
badge
Check Six!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Multiple White Cubes?
We misplayed our first game as we thought we read it that one white cube protected against any and all black cubes being played against the personality. As a result, there was a lot of that sort of insurance being taken out but at the expense of more aggressive action. If high noble turn over is what you like in this sort of game you don't want to look at this variation, but if some relative stability is deemed better then this could be an option you might like to investigate.

As bribes were easier to protect against, more money was poured into troops causing a lot of battles, and a lot of locations changed hands sometimes several times in one turn. A "surprise" bribe would still sometimes get through and so still a serious element to consider.

Depends on what kind of game you prefer...

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.