Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: 1st time Investigator questions regarding Other Worlds... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robb Wynn
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hey all,

Had a BLAST playing Arkham Horror for the first time this evening. At two doom tokens from Awakening the Big Baddie, we got all the gates closed and had enough trophies to WIN! w00h00!!

Had a couple Other World related rules questions:

1. Mythos card: "Temperence Fever Hits the City" - Any investigator with Whiskey must pass a Sneak (-1) check or get arrested and taken to the Police Station.

Can you get arrested while in an Other World?

2. Item (Tome): "The King in Yellow" - Movement: Exhaust and spend 2 movement points to make a Lore (-2) check...

Can you spend the 2 movement points to use this item while in an Other World?

Thanks in advance for the help! thumbsup

Robb
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wynnr67 wrote:
1. Mythos card: "Temperence Fever Hits the City" - Any investigator with Whiskey must pass a Sneak (-1) check or get arrested and taken to the Police Station.

Can you get arrested while in an Other World?


"2. "Temperance Fever Sweeps City" Mythos Card reads: "Any investigator with Whiskey must pass a Sneak(-1) check or get arrested..." Does this (and other similar cards) affect investigators in Other Worlds?

In this case no. If you list the others I'll tell you specifically, but generally environments shouldn't affect other worlds. "

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?e...

Can't recall if there are OW encounters that specifically arrest you, but this combo won't arrest you.

Quote:
2. Item (Tome): "The King in Yellow" - Movement: Exhaust and spend 2 movement points to make a Lore (-2) check...

Can you spend the 2 movement points to use this item while in an Other World?


"Q: Characters in Other Worlds receive no movement
points. But if a character in an Other World has an item
that gives the character movement points, such as the
Motorcycle or the Ruby of R’lyeh, can the character use
an item that requires the character to spend movement
points, such as the Necronomicon?
A: No. You cannot receive movement points or use any
items requiring movement points while in an Other World." (FAQ, page 4)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fadhli Suib
Malaysia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
2. Item (Tome): "The King in Yellow" - Movement: Exhaust and spend 2 movement points to make a Lore (-2) check...

Can you spend the 2 movement points to use this item while in an Other World?


Got another related question..

Can you use tomes when battling ancient one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You only get movement points in the movement phase (Ghatanothoa's attack notwithstanding), there is no such thing in the final combat, so no.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robb Wynn
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it! Thanks!
Appreciate the replies guys!

Now back to fighting Evil!


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.