Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: More newbie questions after 2nd and 3rd run rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J Lee
msg tools
Hello everybody,pls check my questions below.
1.When the Admiral is locked in the brig,should he give the nuke tokens to his successor or should he discard it?Also,when it comes to a president,should he give all remaining Quorum Cards to his successor or should he discards them all?
When the title is passed to one of the successors,should it always be taken by the 1st role in the line of succession?(for instance,if somehow Helo Agathon strips of his title,should it be taken by Apollo?Or by Adama?)

2.Helo Agathon is stranded during his 1st turn,but what if his 1st Crisis card forces him(or he chooses) to discard skill cards?He's not even arrived in the ship!
3.Is basestar only launched by Cylon Attack cards(except some other special events)?A Crisis card with the "activate the basestar" icon has nothing to do when there's no basestar on the board?
4.One of the Cylon attack cards -- Ambush says"...Each unmanned viper suffers a -2 penalty to its attack rolls",what does it exactly mean?Does it mean that when it attacks,only 3-6 counts?

Thanks in advance for all of you!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeny Reznikov
Israel
Haifa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
1. The Nuke tokens go with the Admiral title, same as the Quorum cards go with the Presidency.
The Admiral title goes to the highest person on the succession list that is not in the Brig. In your example, if Helo is sent to the Brig, William Adama would get the title, if he is in play and not in the Brig (or had previously revealed as a Cylon).
2. The only things Helo can't do while stranded is to move (or be moved) or take an action. He participates in skill checks normally, draws skill cards, and is affected by all game effects that do not cause him to move. In this case, he can discard cards as a result of a crisis.
3. Correct. Basestars are placed by Cylon attack cards (mostly), and the fire and launch icons do nothing if one is not on the board.
4. Usually, to hit a raider, a viper has to roll 3-8. Since unmanned vipers get -2 to the roll, if they roll a 4 it counts as a 2, so they miss.
This means unmanned vipers have to roll 5-8 to hit Raiders, and have no chance of hitting Heavy Raiders and Basestars.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Lee
msg tools
Thanks!!Now I understand.
So,if Helo Agathon's 1st Crisis Card would make him go to sickbay,he don't need to,right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Lee
msg tools
DCAnderson wrote:
codej125 wrote:
Thanks!!Now I understand.
So,if Helo Agathon's 1st Crisis Card would make him go to sickbay,he don't need to,right?


Right, since he can't be moved.



Thanks!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
codej125 wrote:

1.When the Admiral is locked in the brig,should he give the nuke tokens to his successor or should he discard it?Alos,when it comes to a president,should he give all remaining Quorum Cards to his successor or should he discards them all?


The answers given so far all seem correct, but just to clarify, you do realise that the President does not lose the title if they get sent to the brig, don't you?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
codej125 wrote:
Hello everybody,pls check my questions below.
1.When the Admiral is locked in the brig,should he give the nuke tokens to his successor or should he discard it?Alos,when it comes to a president,should he give all remaining Quorum Cards to his successor or should he discards them all?
When the title is passed to one of the successors,should it always be taken by the 1st role in the line of succession?(for instance,if somehow Helo Agathon strips of his title,should it be taken by Apollo?Or by Adama?)

2.Helo Agathon is stranded during his 1st turn,but what if his 1st Crisis card forces him(or he chooses) to discard skill cards?He's not even arrived in the ship!

4.One of the Cylon attack cards -- Ambush says"...Each unmanned viper suffers a -2 penalty to its attack rolls",what does it exactly mean?Does it mean that when it attacks,only 3-6 counts?

Thanks in advance for all of you!!
Not gonna simply repeat what's already said. Will add to it though.....


1-
Remember, the only way an Admiral can be in the Brig is if everyone else are also in the Brig. Otherwise, the first person to leave gets the admiralty (which could be the character who had it in the Brig, as in Adama was the first to get out). After that, the admiralty only changes hands after the title holder loses it.
Example #1, if Helo also made it out, the title still stays with Adama. If Adama reveals as a cylon, or Adama gets Brigged, THEN it would go to Helo.

Example #2... Everyone's in the Brig. Helo's breaks out first, so the admiralty would go from Adama to Helo. If Adama later breaks out, Helo would still hold on to it.


2-
Furthermore, when he draws a crisis card on his turn while still being stranded, he can still use ECO Officer to reroll a die.

If he's still stranded (off the board), he can still use his MOral Compass OPG to change the decision made on a crisis card.

4-
Remember, you can always throw a SP on top of that if the situation is desparate enough (no manned pilots, and u guys REALLY need to kill a heavy raider). It seems like you're aware of it, but for others who may be new to the game, manned pilots, like when a playable character like Apollo jumps into a viper, do NOT suffer the -2 attack penalty!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Lee
msg tools
DaveD wrote:
codej125 wrote:

1.When the Admiral is locked in the brig,should he give the nuke tokens to his successor or should he discard it?Alos,when it comes to a president,should he give all remaining Quorum Cards to his successor or should he discards them all?


The answers given so far all seem correct, but just to clarify, you do realise that the President does not lose the title if they get sent to the brig, don't you?


Yes I know it by heart,anyway thanx for your reminder
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Lee
msg tools
ackmondual wrote:
codej125 wrote:
Hello everybody,pls check my questions below.
1.When the Admiral is locked in the brig,should he give the nuke tokens to his successor or should he discard it?Alos,when it comes to a president,should he give all remaining Quorum Cards to his successor or should he discards them all?
When the title is passed to one of the successors,should it always be taken by the 1st role in the line of succession?(for instance,if somehow Helo Agathon strips of his title,should it be taken by Apollo?Or by Adama?)

2.Helo Agathon is stranded during his 1st turn,but what if his 1st Crisis card forces him(or he chooses) to discard skill cards?He's not even arrived in the ship!

4.One of the Cylon attack cards -- Ambush says"...Each unmanned viper suffers a -2 penalty to its attack rolls",what does it exactly mean?Does it mean that when it attacks,only 3-6 counts?

Thanks in advance for all of you!!
Not gonna simply repeat what's already said. Will add to it though.....


1-
Remember, the only way an Admiral can be in the Brig is if everyone else are also in the Brig. Otherwise, the first person to leave gets the admiralty (which could be the character who had it in the Brig, as in Adama was the first to get out). After that, the admiralty only changes hands after the title holder loses it.
Example #1, if Helo also made it out, the title still stays with Adama. If Adama reveals as a cylon, or Adama gets Brigged, THEN it would go to Helo.

Example #2... Everyone's in the Brig. Helo's breaks out first, so the admiralty would go from Adama to Helo. If Adama later breaks out, Helo would still hold on to it.


2-
Furthermore, when he draws a crisis card on his turn while still being stranded, he can still use ECO Officer to reroll a die.

If he's still stranded (off the board), he can still use his MOral Compass OPG to change the decision made on a crisis card.

4-
Remember, you can always throw a SP on top of that if the situation is desparate enough (no manned pilots, and u guys REALLY need to kill a heavy raider). It seems like you're aware of it, but for others who may be new to the game, manned pilots, like when a playable character like Apollo jumps into a viper, do NOT suffer the -2 attack penalty!



Thank you you're so helpful.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Guy
United Kingdom
Scarborough
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello.
Glad you are enjoying Battlestar Galactica!
To answer your questions;

1;If the Admiral or President title is passed on,the first player in line of succesion recieves that title.This would mean that you look at the top of the sucession list and work down until you get to a character that is in play.So,in your example,if Admiral Helo is brigged Adama would be admiral over Apollo,presuming both were in play.
The nukes and any quorum cards held in hand are passed to the new Admiral or President,but note that any Quorum cards that have been played on other characters by the last President (such as Assign Mission Specialist) ARE discarded when a change of presidency takes place.

2;Helo simply cannot be moved,or take actions until he is on the ship.He still draws and can be affected by crisis cards,and can still play cards into skill checks.

3;Yep,Basestars only appear as a result of the blue cylon attack crisis cards.If there are no cylon ships on the board during the activate cylon ships phase,nothing happens.

4;'Each unmanned Viper suffers -2 to it's attack rolls' means that any viper without a pilot (player character) in it only hits cylon raiders on 5-8,and cannot normally hit heavy raiders at all.Strategic planning and suchlike may still alter this roll.
It seems that you mistook the -2 on attack rolls to mean shots taken AGAINST the viper,as opposed to those made BY the viper,which is what the card implies.

Hope this helps!
Happy gaming!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.