Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Battle for Normandy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Supply procedure questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Vincent
United States
Ridgefield
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
General supply is checked at the beginning of the movement phase. If a unit is OOS at this time, am I correct that it can't get back into supply until it's next movement phase?

An OOS unit cannot receive combat support. Is defensive fire considered combat support for this purpose?

Here's the scenario that's prompting these questions:

German Unit A is OOS at the beginning of its movement phase (it is OOS due to range, not EZOC). During movement, a Div HQ is moved closer to the unit, which would put it in supply the next time it checks for general supply. On the subsequent Allied turn, the Allies attack the German unit A. Can unit A receive defensive artillery fire in this battle?

I may be reading too much into combat supply - does it only apply for attacking?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Holte
United States
Fullerton
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Supply is always checked at the instant of action.

So, if you're unit is in supply when attacked, then they may call in artillery.

Additionally, a unit that is OOS due to EZOCs may call defensive artillery if are within three hexes of another friendly unit that is in supply (12.5.4)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Vincent
United States
Ridgefield
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DHolte wrote:

Supply is always checked at the instant of action.


Hmm... ok. That's not clear in the rules. 7.1 says General Supply is checked at the start of movement, and 7.5 says an OOS unit cannot receive Combat Supply. These two rules imply to me that the only time you check for general supply is at the beginning of movement.

So are you saying that a unit that starts its movement OOS but starts the combat phase with a legal supply line can in fact use combat supply (and fight without halving attack factors)?

Also, a question about attachments: At what point does the player have to declare what non-divisional units are attached to a division HQ, and how long does that attachment last? For the phase? Turn? Day?

Are company breakdown units considered divisional units or non-divisional units? Logically they'd still be part of the division, but since there are no unit designations on the company counters it can get a little complicated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Holte
United States
Fullerton
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ben,

Quote:
Hmm... ok. That's not clear in the rules. 7.1 says General Supply is checked at the start of movement, and 7.5 says an OOS unit cannot receive Combat Supply. These two rules imply to me that the only time you check for general supply is at the beginning of movement.


Exactly - A unit moves based on the supply status when it begins moving. In other words: If, during that unit's movement you get out of supply range you do not switch to a lower movement rate. Likewise, if it begins OOS, then it remains that way until its movement is complete.

The combat phase is a whole new phase, and supply is checked when you attempt to perform an action in that phase. So OOS units that moved into a good supply situation, or say if an HQ unit was moved into the vicinity to change its supply status, then they would perform combat as such.

Quote:
Also, a question about attachments: At what point does the player have to declare what non-divisional units are attached to a division HQ, and how long does that attachment last? For the phase? Turn? Day?


It would be just like supply; at the time of action.

Quote:
Are company breakdown units considered divisional units or non-divisional units? Logically they'd still be part of the division, but since there are no unit designations on the company counters it can get a little complicated.


The supply function in the game also represents command & control and communications. Breakdown units are thus treated as corp units for this reason. This would represent the increased complication, logistically and organizationally, of coordinating these units in combat.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.