The following errata appeared in The General, November-December 1982, Volume 19, Number 4, page 10.
1. Delete "NOTE" following 6.3.3. It describes a situation that cannot possibly occur.
2. A player must complete his gold purchase before he may look at his trade cards.
3. When using the Pottery card to reduce famine loss, a player must reveal the grain trade cards he intends to apply.
4. Law must be acquired before (not with) Democracy and Philosophy.
5. A player cannot surrender trade cards if it would reduce his hand below six cards.
6. Players cannot examine the trade card stacks.
7. There is some confusion concerning the formation of the two factions in a Civil War. Hopefully, this will clarify the problem. The first faction is chosen by the player who received the Civil War and his nominee. The player first turns over exactly 15 unit points worth. His nominee then turns over exactly 20 unit points worth. These upside down units form the first faction. Whatever units of the nation remains face-up form the second faction. The player then proceeds as described in the rules.
Actually, they put out errata on Civil War. You must choose the civ with the most tokens in stock. This prevents you from royally screwing over someone with few tokens, as after they get the benefit of the civil war, they have no tokens, and all their cities then revolt.