Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Last Night on Earth: Survival of the Fittest» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few more rules questions... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Anders Kernel
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
...with the hope of an official answer.

1. Unique Items - do they count as regular Items (Enabling the Zs to play Knocked Away, and the Heroes to Combine them)?

2. When do you play the Survival Tactics (it is pretty clear with the cards which specify this, but can you keep the other events up your sleeve, as for example Sewers and Survival of the Fittest)?

3. Who chooses dot rules first, Zombies or Heroes, or do they just agree on an amount?

...and the last one, which is a bit funny:

The other day, Victor were running around with a combined Chainsaw and Garden Shears. He went straight for a Bloater and managed to kill it in three ways with 1 roll (!) rolling 6-5-3-3-1 while the Z rolled a 2. Thus he killed it with the instantkill on the 6, killed it by beating its die with the chainsaw and wounded it by rolling double. Should the Zombie check three times for its ability to negate a wound or only 1?

Cheerio,
A
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Walton
United Kingdom
Cannock
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
SovTech wrote:

The other day, Victor were running around with a combined Chainsaw and Garden Shears. He went straight for a Bloater and managed to kill it in three ways with 1 roll (!) rolling 6-5-3-3-1 while the Z rolled a 2. Thus he killed it with the instantkill on the 6, killed it by beating its die with the chainsaw and wounded it by rolling double. Should the Zombie check three times for its ability to negate a wound or only 1?


Only one of those is a 'Wound' the others are 'Kills', which the Bloater can't avoid.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roman F
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Bloater can too avoid kills:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/496776/instantly-killed-...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel V
msg tools
mbmb
Hi,

1/ Unique items are still Items. anything that can target a specific item will target a unique Item. Like the card to empty munition works on the unique gun.
The only thing that is specified is that you can't use cards that targets a "Hero Card"

2/Thats the beauty of the tactics, when nothing is said you play whenever you want.


Once I had a viktor that was superman : 7 automatic fight dice...


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anders Kernel
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Daniel. Do you have a reference to your answers?

I tend to agree that Unique Items still count as Items and that you can play Survival Tactics when you wish (as they are events), but we are still discussing this in the group, and would really like an official ruling or a reference of some sort.

Cheerio,
A
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rami Finkelshtein
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Just another day on the staircase
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MaddMatt wrote:
SovTech wrote:

The other day, Victor were running around with a combined Chainsaw and Garden Shears. He went straight for a Bloater and managed to kill it in three ways with 1 roll (!) rolling 6-5-3-3-1 while the Z rolled a 2. Thus he killed it with the instantkill on the 6, killed it by beating its die with the chainsaw and wounded it by rolling double. Should the Zombie check three times for its ability to negate a wound or only 1?


Only one of those is a 'Wound' the others are 'Kills', which the Bloater can't avoid.


actually this would count as 1 wound on the bloater (one causes a wound and the rest cause a "kill" which is to fill up the rest of the wound boxes....which at this point is 0 wounds) therefore the bloater will have to roll once to prevent the wound if it rolls a 3+ (or was it a 4+) then it stays alive. The bloater is very powerful. Fear him!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rami Finkelshtein
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Just another day on the staircase
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SovTech wrote:
...with the hope of an official answer.

1. Unique Items - do they count as regular Items (Enabling the Zs to play Knocked Away, and the Heroes to Combine them)?

2. When do you play the Survival Tactics (it is pretty clear with the cards which specify this, but can you keep the other events up your sleeve, as for example Sewers and Survival of the Fittest)?

3. Who chooses dot rules first, Zombies or Heroes, or do they just agree on an amount?

...and the last one, which is a bit funny:

The other day, Victor were running around with a combined Chainsaw and Garden Shears. He went straight for a Bloater and managed to kill it in three ways with 1 roll (!) rolling 6-5-3-3-1 while the Z rolled a 2. Thus he killed it with the instantkill on the 6, killed it by beating its die with the chainsaw and wounded it by rolling double. Should the Zombie check three times for its ability to negate a wound or only 1?

Cheerio,
A


1. Yes unique times count as items....unless they specifically say that they don't (so they count for your limits)

2. Survival tactics are events....they act as events and can be used whenever events can be used (which is ALWAYS)

3. There is a lot of discussion about this in another post (can't find it right now) I would suggest looking there they have a couple of interesting ideas on this topic.

and for your last 1: as I said above. The zombie only has to check 1 (it only has to prevent one wound since that is all it has and no matter what ability you count only 1 wound can be dealt to it) therefore if it makes one check and survives then your amazing roll does absolutely nothing . F34R the BLOATER!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timothy 'Peachy' Devery
United States
Peoria
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, yeah, it's been months, but I've an answer for you.

Zombies get to choose how many dots they desire to use (and for what purpose) before the Heroes. Those poor saps have to work with what is given to them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.