Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Tobago» Forums » Rules

Subject: Amulets and curse cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Hirschman
United States
flag msg tools
A few more questions - just learning the game:
1) From the rules: Amulets can be played at anytime during one's turn. Also from the rules: Discarding an amulet when hit by a curse prevents loss of one's most valuable treasure card. So, let's say players A and B have clue cards on a treasure and that treasue is raised by player A and is to be distributed. Since it is technically player A's turn while the treasure is distributed, does this mean that only player A can use an amulet in response to a curse card during the distribution of that treasure, or can player B also use an amulet during the distribution of that treasure?

2) According to the rules, a curse card that appears during the distribution of a treasure is "removed from the game," but the lost treasure cards and ones not distributed are "discarded." I assume "discarded" and "removed from the game" are two different things. If those phrases are two different things, what are the implications and meaning in terms of the rules of the game and the way the game is played?
Thanks again.
Richard
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rich10 wrote:
A few more questions - just learning the game:
1) From the rules: Amulets can be played at anytime during one's turn. Also from the rules: Discarding an amulet when hit by a curse prevents loss of one's most valuable treasure card. So, let's say players A and B have clue cards on a treasure and that treasue is raised by player A and is to be distributed. Since it is technically player A's turn while the treasure is distributed, does this mean that only player A can use an amulet in response to a curse card during the distribution of that treasure, or can player B also use an amulet during the distribution of that treasure?


Anyone can use an amulet to protect themselves.

rich10 wrote:
2) According to the rules, a curse card that appears during the distribution of a treasure is "removed from the game," but the lost treasure cards and ones not distributed are "discarded." I assume "discarded" and "removed from the game" are two different things. If those phrases are two different things, what are the implications and meaning in terms of the rules of the game and the way the game is played?
Thanks again.
Richard


Most of the time, when you go to distribute the last treasure in the game, you don't have enough treasure cards left in the deck. You shuffle the DISCARDED treasures and use them to make up that difference. Thus, the rules are really just telling you that the curses will NOT be reshuffled in to possibly appear again in that last haul.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Grant
Australia
Austinmer
New South Wales
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. When a curse comes up, all players with compass roses remaining on the treasure must either a) discard an amulet, or b) discard their highest treasure card. So yes, both players may discard an amulet. But let's say Player A has already claimed some treasure cards from this round, and only Player B as compass roses remaining. In that case, the curse only affects Player B; Player A would not discard anything.

2. Yes, curses are removed from the game. Treasures are discarded. This matters because at the end of the game, you may need to shuffle the discard pile back in to have enough treasure cards for the final treasure. Curses would not be shuffled back in.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Jackson
United States
Goodlettsville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Am I a man or am I a muppet? If I'm a muppet then I'm a very manly muppet!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dangrant88 wrote:
Yes, curses are removed from the game. Treasures are discarded. This matters because at the end of the game, you may need to shuffle the discard pile back in to have enough treasure cards for the final treasure. Curses would not be shuffled back in.


Interesting... we've been playing this wrong and shuffling the curse cards back into the deck... makes the whole "jump on the last treasure" thing really dice-y w/out an amulet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Norwood
United States
Graham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Come visit me at GamerChris.com for all sorts of chewy, gamery goodness!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We originally did the opposite, and removed all the remaining treasure cards from the game along with the curse card. It didn't change the game much, though, other than make sure that all the "left over" cards for the last treasure were really crappy ones.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P B
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What about this scenario...

A curse card is played and Player A has two wind roses left and player B has one wind rose.

Does Player A need to produce an amulet for EACH wind rose or risk losing a high value treasure for each wind rose showing?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The quantity of wind rose markers remaining is irrelevant. All players with one or more left are threatened. Discarding one amulet protects you and the curse is discarded.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.