Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Cordeiro
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
About a year had passed since our last round of Alhambra. This had been a favorite of mine when we first received it, and I had been pushing to play for a few months. Finally, my family gave in, and we played. I went with a basic strategy - if I could afford the tile and it fit, buy it. I went for high value currency cards unless I saw one that would give me an exact purchase. The other two players favored the exact purchase strategy for the most part. After the first two rounds, one of the other players was in 1st, I was close behind in 2nd, and the other player was way behind due to some short-sighted planning. As a result, the last place player had acquired a large amount of currency cards heading into the end of the game.

On the last turn of the game, the last place player bought a tile exactly, dumped it in the reserve, and then used the bonus turn to make an exchange. Things suddenly opened up. Because this player had been stockpiling cards, she was also able to win the 3 remaining tiles at the end of the game and place all of them. The points generated off this one turn were enough to vault her from "way behind" to just one point behind the winner. I finished in 3rd/last, just 2 points behind the winner, still trying to comprehend what just happened.

This exciting finsh prompted a rematch. In this round, I was less concerned with winning and more concerned with testing the limits of the exact purchase strategy. I decided that all of my purchases would be by exact amount only. In terms of number of tiles purchased, my "exact amount" strategy didn't seem to have an impact on my performance compared to the first game. Unfortunately, I ended up with a very short outer wall, which prevented me from remaining competitive.