United States
Jupiter
Florida
flag msg tools
And avatars as well!
badge
Move along, folks, show's over....
mbmbmbmbmb
I just purchased the Puerto Rico PC game off of Thoughthammer to get enough for free shipping. I was curious as to what you guys thought about it in general. Is the AI any good? Does it include the Expansion buildings? How is the interface (better than BSW I hope)? Thanks for any info!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
| Scott Kinzie |
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not an expert by any means in Puerto Rico... but here's my take:

It does have the first expansion buildings.

The AI seems pretty smart but it seems to be vulnerable to the number of players. If you play a 3 player game with 2 "professional" level AI's, you've got a tough game ahead. But somehow when I play with 4 "professional" AI's (a 5 player game), I usually win. Not sure what's going on there.

I like it. It's amusing and fun, but I think you should think of it as a "keeping your skills honed" type of activity rather than a "true" gaming experience. Does that make sense?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Bauer
United States
Gilbert
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Bazinga!
mbmbmbmbmb
In a word, No.

I found the AI no good. The online had no good way to find players, at least when it first came out and I payed retail for it.

The AI on phial is better and for live opponents BSW has fairly regular games for now.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick McNamara
United States
Jupiter
Florida
flag msg tools
And avatars as well!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
DenverWolf wrote:

The AI seems pretty smart but it seems to be vulnerable to the number of players. If you play a 3 player game with 2 "professional" level AI's, you've got a tough game ahead. But somehow when I play with 4 "professional" AI's (a 5 player game), I usually win. Not sure what's going on there.