10 Posts

Dominion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Buying Phase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luke Shaw
msg tools
Hi there!

I'm new to both BGG and Dominion and one thing has been bugging me about it.

It suggests that if a card gives you +1 buy, you can use that to collect an extra Copper.

Because Copper costs '0' does that mean I can also Buy one on my Buy Phase if my hand has no Treasure cards in?

I know it's a silly question, but there seems to be little clarification on it.

Thanks in advance
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Lundström
Sweden
Täby
flag msg tools
Now who are these five?
badge
Come, come, all children who love fairy tales.
mbmbmbmbmb
You buy for all your buys during the buy phase (after all action cards are played)

If you have no coin during your buy phase, you can indeed just pick a copper, as they cost 0.

If you play an action card that gives you a +buy, that means you can buy 2 cards. If you have, say, 4 coin, you can buy one card for 4 and one for 0 (copper). Or, you can buy two cards for 2 coin each. Or one for 3, and one for 0. Or just take 2 copper.

Simply, for each +buy you are allowed to buy one extra card during the buy phase, and since copper costs 0, you can always use that extra buy to get a copper during the buy phase.

Please note that all cards bought ('gained') go directly to your discard pile. It's not that you get a copper directely when you play a card that gives you a +buy, and that you can use the copper immediately.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke Shaw
msg tools
Excellent, thank you!

From what I can tell I've played everything correctly though we only started picking up coppers after a re-read of the rulebook on our second game.

Tonight I'll be playing with 2 people who haven't played before, and my girlfriend who has played it with me for the past few days, so I want to make sure i've got everything correct.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United Kingdom
flag msg tools