Sander Spenkelink
Netherlands
Almelo
Overijssel
flag msg tools
mb
When i was looking through most of the topic's i noticed that most people think that 4 players is the best setup for the game.

I have a lot of experience with 3 and 4 player games and some ocassional 2 and 5 player games.

But i noticed with my gaming experience that 4 players turn out to be boring from time to time.

Why you might wonder.
Well offcourse its easy to build a 4 player galaxy cause its easy to balance it out.
But there is a big downside.
When we play with 4 players the game nearly turns out to be in a 2 vs 2 game. Sure it can be fun to battle against eachother with 2 players.
But with 3 or 5 players, pacts are more dangerous to make. Cause when you make a pact with another player the chance is big that there will be a 3 player pact opposing you.

When you attack in a 4 player game, there will allways be 1 player that tries to take its benefit from your attack. But we noticed that when a player attacks in a 5 player game there will allways be total chaos after it since most of the time there are 2-3 players that will try to make benefit of the situation.

Well this is what i've experienced in about 13 games.
So in my opinion 5 player games are the best to play when you want games full of action and betrayel etc. Alltough the downside is, that its more difficult to make a 5 player galaxy.

So after this pile of text im asking you, is a 4 player game really a better option than 3-5 player games?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timo Haas
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
In my gaming group we play TI3 only with 5+ players. For my taste the games inherent balance is kept best with 6 players: my most challenging games were with 6 players, the board changing very often (but not random!) and the interaction between the different layers (military, trade, technology, politics, ...) working best.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timothy Sullivan
United States
Glen Carbon