Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Renaud
Canada
Mission
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My wife and I purchased Descent recently and we've been played three games, plus our first game which was more of a learning experience. The players won the first and third quest, but I, as Over Lord for all the games, won on the fourth quest, the Spoiled Brat. This raised some complaints, as some of the party felt the game ended too abruptly and didn't last long enough compared to set-up time.

Personally, as the Over Lord, it feels that most of the game is balanced in favour of the players, most notably treasure. However, that may simply be because I'm new to the game. Generally speaking, it feels like I only really have one opportunity to bring the party to zero conquest and if I don't take it I won't be getting another chance. This means tha I either have to kill them early when they only have copper treasure or let them walk over me when they have gold.

I'm looking for a variant that will ensure a full dungeon is played without messing with balance too much on either side. I would like a dramatic final boss-fight, win or lose, but by that point the party either has considerable power and conquest or they've lost two hours ago.

Does anyone have any recommendations?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Rozmiarek
United States
Liberty Hill
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The standard variant is allowing negative conquest. Start the game as normal but allow the heroes to go negative if they lose too much conquest. If they end the game with positive conquest, they win the game. Remember to award the final conquest for completing the quest.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thompson
United States
Homewood
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't quit when the party has 0 conquest. Play until the very end. Award the Quest Ending conquest and then determine the winner.