Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

18OH» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playtest: rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
1) Does any off-board qualify as a city for a U-type train route, or is East Pittsburgh the only off-board that qualifies to end a U-type train route due to its (potential) station marker? (ie What is the exact definition of a city for U-type trains?)

2) Does Detroit count as a city or town for a T-type train? U-type?

3) Are locations that are connected by track, that are also unconnected by operating companies, considered connected as far as connection bonuses? For example, is Cincinnati considered to already be connected at the start of the game? How about SouthEast and Parkersburg before the M&C floats?

4) If the E&K places a single yellow tile to connect Detroit at the start of the game, how much bonus does it receive, $40 or $60?

5) The FAQ suggests that some companies are able to buy more than one train from the bank per OR. I do not see this in the rules or on the charters I am playing with. Is this a new change?

6) The FAQ suggests that some companies may be able to move their station markers once they have been placed?

7) The FAQ mentions delisting a company. Delisting is not mentioned in the posted 0.41 rules. What is it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Hudson
United States
Vermilion
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
1) Does any off-board qualify as a city for a U-type train route, or is East Pittsburgh the only off-board that qualifies to end a U-type train route due to its (potential) station marker? (ie What is the exact definition of a city for U-type trains?)

2) Does Detroit count as a city or town for a T-type train? U-type?

All off-board locations are considered cities when calculating U- and T-type routes.

3) Are locations that are connected by track, that are also unconnected by operating companies, considered connected as far as connection bonuses? For example, is Cincinnati considered to already be connected at the start of the game? How about SouthEast and Parkersburg before the M&C floats?

Several testers have asked this questions. Hopefully, the 0.42 rules will clear it up. Anyway, the key is connections to company stations. Since there are no stations on the map at the beginning of the game, all locations--cities, towns, and off-board locations--are eligible for connections bonuses.

4) If the E&K places a single yellow tile to connect Detroit at the start of the game, how much bonus does it receive, $40 or $60?

$40. If it was Phase 4 when the connection was made, the bonus would be $60.

5) The FAQ suggests that some companies are able to buy more than one train from the bank per OR. I do not see this in the rules or on the charters I am playing with. Is this a new change?


6) The FAQ suggests that some companies may be able to move the station markers once they have been placed?

7) The FAQ mentions delisting a company. Delisting is never mentioned in the posted rules. What is it?

Questions 5-7 refer to changes which are in the 0.42 rules. Delisting enables players once per game to close an unopened company (but one which was auctioned in a charter auction). Other .42 changes include the formation of charter pools at the beginning of the game, and downgrading locations (in addition to foreclosing).





 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Thanks Tom.

A clarification to #4:

Why isn't a bonus paid for the E&K's home station as well as the T&IR's home station (location) as well? Both are "connected" by the new track. Is the constraint the ability to trace a route from a token?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Hudson
United States
Vermilion
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To get the bonus the previously unconnected location must :

1. Connect to a company station.
2. Be a normal route (of any length).

Using the preprinted track, EK would have to reverse at a junction to connect to TIR, which is not allowed, so it's not a legal route and therefore no bonus is rewarded. This is covered in the .41 rules tangentially where it talks about "accidental" connections.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Ahh so.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Fawcett
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Playtest: rules questions/edits/corrections
On page 19 (v.42) under Dividends/Half-dividends, the rules state:

"If the the revenue for the operating round is an odd number, round in favor of shareholders. For example, on revenues of $110, the company would retain $50 and $60 wold be distributed."

Where do I start? First, there can never be revenue as an odd number, because every city or town adds some multiple of 10 to the revenue. Second, $110 from the example is not an odd number, and anyway, half of $110 is $55.

You need to just remove the entire paragraph from the rules.

Also on page 19, immediately following this paragraph, there is an extra word "is" following "SPI".

Do you have someone looking at the rules from a grammar, spelling and consistency standpoint? You need to have someone who's not been close to the rule development so he/she can really look at the rules closely.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Hudson
United States
Vermilion
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The sentence should read "if halving the dividends results in an odd number, round in favor of the shareholders."

This is done, of course, because odd numbers cannot be evenly divided into 10 shares.

We've received a lot of feedback on the rules--the more the merrier--and thanks, Chris, for yours.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.