Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Hell of Stalingrad» Forums » Rules

Subject: Break Test - Soviet Victory rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
JR Dundas
Canada
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When the Soviets win a Break Test, the Inferno, Fire and Bucket Counters stay in play where they ended up on the Tracking Card for that building. When it comes time to draw a new Carnage Card for that building, the Hold Counter will be placed on the Tracking Card as indicated on the Carnage Card. What happens to the Inferno, Fire and Bucket Counters that are already in play on that Tracking Card? Do the the Fire and Bucket Counters advance from their present location on the Tracking Card the number of spaces indicated on the newly drawn Carnage Card?

Just to confirm, on a Soviet Victory or a Bloody Slaughter Break Test result, Shielded Units from both sides are never removed from the Building Card as kills?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The infernos, buckets and fires stay where they were. Start and stop of a battle do not affect them, except in the case of a German Victory. They can even be advanced when no battle is taking place by certain events and general abilities.

Shielded units are immune to losses due to bloody slaughters and Soviet victories.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Schmittgens
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to clarify -

The only time you can choose to use Fires AND Buckets from a Carnage card is when the card is used to resolve a Hold Action. After "the Soviets win a Break Test", there are no more Hold Actions in that building until the next turn.

During Battle Phases for other buildings, the Fire effects on the Combat Cards only apply to the building being contested. (Page 4 - "With the exception of Overrun and Supply, the effects apply only to the current battle.")

When the German player does a Reload action with General Paulus, the German player can place a fire in any building (even 'inactive').

In the next turn, when you begin the Battle Phase for that building, you will draw a Carnage card which tells "how many fires are added to the Fire Track" (page 21 under 'Battle Intensity').

So:

Buckets are never added to a building other than during the Battle phase.

Fires may be added during Battle phases for other buildings if the German player reloads.

Fires will be added when a Carnage card is drawn to start a new battle phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR Dundas
Canada
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the input.

"Fires will be added when a Carnage card is drawn to start a new battle phase."

Given the above statement, if you are drawing a Carnage Card for a building where the Soviets had just won a Break Test, will the Fire and Bucket Counters that are already on that building's Tracking Card be advanced by the number of Fire and Bucket Counters indicated from the Intensity Section of the just drawn Carnage Card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Schmittgens
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick answer - Yes to Fire, No to Buckets. There are no buckets in the Intensity (middle) section of a Carnage card.

Long answer - If the Soviets have "just won a Break Test", you don't draw a Carnage card. That building is done for the turn.

On the next turn, a new Carnage card is drawn when the battle is fought. This card is used to determine battle intensity.

The Intensity part of the Carnage card only has skulls and fires. The fires get added to the building (and the skulls are how many Hold Actions are necessary).

The only (possible) buckets on a Carnage card are in the Hold Action part (right side) of the card. You only look at that part when one of the players takes a Hold Action.

Sounds like you might be using too much of the Carnage card for battle intensity.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR Dundas
Canada
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the help Greg, much appreciated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.