Peter Hawes wrote:
The answer is no, John. Although this was mentioned during playtesting our brotherly love for our ally never went so far that we spent money to protect him. I can understand the reason for the question eg. to protect a big noble that is winning your House a big VP area and perhaps helping to win King.
The reason the answer is no, is because it is costly and hard enough to black bribe cube a noble away from someone, so we didn't want to make it any easier to aid the current owner. The black cube costs twice as much as the white cube and we wanted to reward those players that gamble on the black bribe cubes.
Great game. We played a 4 player game the other night and we played the bribe rule wrong. We used the VP of a ship instead of the income points when bribing (and thus it was near impossible to grab a ship since the rich player just protected all their ships).
Thx for the quick reply