Minnesota
flag msg tools
What's "story" got to do with it?
badge
"Drizzle, drazzle, drozzle, drome; time for this one to come home."
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule 11.2 says (in part):
Quote:
Zero Strength Attacks / Defenses: Combat units with a Combat Strength of zero (0) may not initiate an attack. When attacked, they defend as if their Combat Strength were one (1).

Does this apply to Basic Combat Value as well as Combat Strength per se?

For example, let's say I have a unit with a Combat Strength of 2 attacking a similar unit, also with a Combat Strength of 2, and both units are on stream hexes. Both units suffer a -2 modifier for the stream, and there are no other modifiers involved.

So, I'm guessing the defending unit is reduced to a Basic Combat Value of 0, but it's treated as 1, due to the rule above. However, the attacking unit is also reduced to a Basic Combat Value of 0 and therefore, according to the above rule, cannot attack at all. The melee attack is canceled.

Is that right? Or am I missing something?

As far as I can tell, it must work something like this. Otherwise you'd end up with Basic Combat Values less than 1, and it'd be impossible to calculate combat results.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Nagel
United States
Burlington
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Patrick,

No. In the situation you describe, there would be no ratio modifier because the Combat Strengths are the same (assuming neither is modified by a leader or unit advantage). Both sides would garner a -2 drm for the terrain.

I think you've missed the point that the Base Combat Value is equal to a die roll. This Value is modified by various factors.

Somewhere I thought I clarified that a modified Combat Value never drops below a 1 (but I just can't find it anywhere).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
p55carroll
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
mpnagel wrote:
Patrick,