BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: RISK Replacement? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gaibrial Mc Kee
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
My brothers (ages 8 and 11) love RISK, and they are constantly asking me to play it. I am new at this hobby, and so my knowledge of what is out there is spotty. I used to enjoy RISK when I was wee, but I now intensely dislike RISK for the following (cliched) reasons:

1) Long down-time in between players' turns. Unless you were attacked, you could leave the board, and come back 10 minutes later.

2) It's perhaps the only strategy game in which no strategising is required. Battles are almost completely a matter of luck.

3) The game is at least 2 hours too long (and that's IF you can stand to finish it).

I fancy that my brothers enjoy RISK because:

1) There's a map.

2) You command little men around on the map.

3) The little men that you command around on the map attack your foes, and that's delightful.

I have been searching for a game that could replace RISK. It has to be relatively short (less than 75 minutes), accomodate up to 4 players (but be playable at two and three), and have some element of strategy (though I am not averse to a certain degree of luck). But most importantly, this game must also have little men that march around on a map... because everyone knows that a strategy game simply is not strategic if there aren't little men and a map.

I have considered purchasing miniatures for CONDOTTIERE, as this game seems to (largely) meet my criteria. I would also like to hear suggestions from other Geeks.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klaus Brune
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
HEY! That TICKLES!
mbmbmbmbmb
Dust - it's pushing the limit of your time requirement, but seriously... look at the map and the figures. What Risk fan could say no to this?