Choubi Gogs
France
flag msg tools
badge
My avatar is from the chilren's game Monster Mash
mbmbmbmbmb

(photo by SpiderOne)

Disclaimer

Ok, just so you know where I come from and how the review will go. I'll start by an introduction so you know how I came to know the game and what my expectations of it were, then a little summary of how the game plays and what it looks like, you can skip that part if you're already familiar with it and the rules as I won't go much into detail here. I'll finish by my own opinion and my rating of the game. After that, I'll summarize what my playing group feels about the game.

About me, I started playing and fell in love with heavy games (Serenissima and Caylus). I began to play lighter games later like Odin's Ravens and Kahuna. I like mostly all types of games though I like when these are tense. I also usually don't like heavily luck-dependent games.
My favourites are Through The Ages, Race For The Galaxy, Imperial, Caylus, Dungeon Twister, Monster Mash.
Games I didn't like: Pillars of the Earth, Mykerinos, Caylus Magna Carta, Aton.

Introduction

I bought this game for my parents. My dad, who's a recent retired (although he still works part time for his old firm) told me one day he and my mum played rummikub from time to time in the evening and that they enjoyed playing together. Since they both played a lot of card games, I thought perhaps Lost Cities could appeal to them. On the other hand, I was afraid the game might not be too much of my type.

What is the game about

The game is a simple card game for 2 players designed by Reiner Knizia. Both players are archeologists trying to go on expeditions to find lost cities or some other artefacts. Of course, as with most Knizias, the theme is pretty much absent here.