Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: question about battleing the ancient one sorry if dual post rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Franklin Marshall
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
I just wanted to clear something up real quick. Lets say I have to fight the ancient one and there are two players, that means you have to roll two successes to remove a doom token from him. Well lets say player one rolls four successes, does that mean you remove two doom tokens? I got kinda confused by the rulebook because it says something about resetting the total of successes after you remove a doom token. If anyone could clear this up for me I would appriciate it. Also lets say player one rolls three successes, do you remove a doom token and carry over the third success to player two's roll?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Hawks
United States
Des Moines
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, your successes carry over. Basically, you need (# of investigators) X (number of doom tokens) successes to win. So if you had 4 investigators who were fighting Yig, an Ancient One with 10 doom tokens, you would need 40 total successes to win.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Franklin Marshall
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
ok thanks! I have a bad habit of reading too much into the rules haha
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Hawks
United States
Des Moines
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's a confusingly written rule. I think the writers were over thinking it as well. laugh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
banjothulu wrote:
It's a confusingly written rule. I think the writers were over thinking it as well. laugh

And I don't know what is worse: the original way they explained it or the FAQ explanation trying to back-peddle out of their explanation saying they meant what they said but that it meant something different than what it reads.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.