Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Carter
United States
Longwood
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Ever notice how games seem to bring out different personality type in different people? There's a new article on The Board Game Blog that explores this, detailing five characters that always seem to pop up at game night.

5 People You See at Every Game Session

Which ones do you see the most often? The Thinker? The Mad Scientist? Which one are you?

- Ben
@ TheBoardGameBlog.com
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hannah Smith
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
Ooh. I'm a Mad Scientist at Dominion, I think, and Battlestar Galactica--pretending I'm a cylon when I'm a human, getting people to execute me and be really surprised, etc--and a few other games. Probably a Thinker most of the time though.

A subcategory of the Victim: the "you-never-told-me-that-rule" guy. I hate that guy. Probably because I teach the new games to my gaming group probably 95% of the time, and we have a couple of them.

"Wait...settlements have to be two spaces away from each other?! You never said that!! I never would have done that!!! Now my whole game is ruined!!!!"

...mrrrrr.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Carter
United States
Longwood
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
hannahforthewin wrote:
A subcategory of the Victim: the "you-never-told-me-that-rule" guy. I hate that guy. Probably because I teach the new games to my gaming group probably 95% of the time, and we have a couple of them.

Good call. That reminds me one of my favorite geeklists on here, posted by Legomancer:

"You Never Told Me That Rule!" -- Rules You Most Certainly Told Them.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Lacombe
Louisiana
msg tools
badge
Suddenly a shot rang out! A door slammed. The maid screamed. Suddenly a pirate ship appeared on the horizon! While millions of people were starving, the king lived in luxury. Meanwhile, on a small farm in Kansas, a boy was growing up.
mbmbmbmbmb