Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Le Havre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Town builds . . . Clay Mound? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
At the end of the second round of my solo game, the town was to build a standard building. The lowest sort order was the Clay Mound (10), but at the top it says "The Clay Mound cannot be built, but may be bought by a player." This is different from the statement at the top of the Special Building cards (for instance, "The Brick Manufacturer is built by the town, but may be bought by a player.").

Therefore, I assumed the town cannot build the Clay Mound. Instead, I chose the Wharf (sort order 12) for the town to build.

Is this correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, "Cannot be built" is a restriction that only applies to players.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
David, just re-word this part of the rules (in mind): "The town constructs the building with the lowest number." A building gets built by the town if it is buildable, and bought if it is open for purchase. The Clay Mound, thus, gets purchased by the town.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam O'Brien
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Even Cleverer Overtext
badge
Every time someone activates this overtext, it takes a year off my life. Hover often please!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe all of the Special Buildings have the same wording, and obviously the town can build those. I think that the "cannot be built" box is intended to be more of an explanation of why there are no building materials listed on the card, rather than a rule of how it can be constructed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I should've trusted my intuition instead of overthinking it. Thanks all for clarifying.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clyde W
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Red Team
badge
#YOLO
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3dicebombers wrote:
I believe all of the Special Buildings have the same wording, and obviously the town can build those. I think that the "cannot be built" box is intended to be more of an explanation of why there are no building materials listed on the card, rather than a rule of how it can be constructed.
So in order to construct it do you need to visit a building firm? Or do you just perform a buy action and take it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
clydeiii wrote:
3dicebombers wrote:
I believe all of the Special Buildings have the same wording, and obviously the town can build those. I think that the "cannot be built" box is intended to be more of an explanation of why there are no building materials listed on the card, rather than a rule of how it can be constructed.
So in order to construct it do you need to visit a building firm? Or do you just perform a buy action and take it?

Just buy it. Do not visit a building firm.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.