Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nathan Woll
United States
Warsaw
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Since we have a thread dealing with our favorite GIPF games, I was wondering about people's favorite Gigamic games. Maybe everyone can add their list of favorites and a quick explanation of why they like the game.

Here's my list.
1. Quarto - I really like the mechanic of your opponent choosing what piece you play. While I'm not sure you can have any strategy with this mechanic; that's fine with me because the games are so short.

2. Quoridor - This one will probably top most people's list and for good reason. It's easy to teach, easy to learn, and has rather complex strategy. This makes a great gateway game.

3. Gobblet - I'm not very good at this game yet, but I find it fascinating. It really taxes your brain trying to remember what is where, and trying to see all the possible 4-in-a-rows, and trying to remember that your pieces can be covered.

4. Quixo - I just got this game, and I've only played it twice. I was rather surprised at how much fun it is. I have no idea what the long term strategy is though.

5. Batik - Well at least it's fast. There is almost no decision making whatsoever in this game, but it plays so quickly that it's not that important. I use this game in my classroom to reward students, and they really like it.

These are the only ones I've played so far, but I'm interested in trying out the rest.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmb
My current ratings of these Gigamic games:

Inside = 8 (Really elegant and clever rules - looks so simple it should have no replay value, yet we keep enjoying it. We also play with the varied starting cube distribution (as suggested by the designer in the BGG forum) instead of always using the published one)