Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: A couple of questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Chance
United States
Madison
MS
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you "cower" everytime you roll doubles, even snake eyes, when shooting?


Do you go under DM everytime you fail a MC or get Casualty reduced?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cunningham
United States
Milford
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shakespear wrote:
Do you "cower" everytime you roll doubles, even snake eyes, when shooting?


Yes, unless leader directed or British.


shakespear wrote:
Do you go under DM everytime you fail a MC or get Casualty reduced?


I believe yes, if your are rolling as a result of enemy fire. I don't believe you'd become DM if you are broken and CR by rolling a 12 for your rally.

Dan
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cunningham
United States
Milford
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chee wrote:
Yes, unless leader directed or British.



or Fanatic.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Kennedy
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chee wrote:
or British.

Elite and 1st line British don't cower. 2nd line and lower still cower normally.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Schmittgens
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
shakespear wrote:
Do you "cower" everytime you roll doubles, even snake eyes, when shooting?


You cower, even on snake eyes, unless an SMC (like firing a MG), berserk, Fanatic, British elite and first line, Finnish, ordnance, OBA or vehicular.

shakespear wrote:
Do you go under DM everytime you fail a MC or get Casualty reduced?


You go under DM when you break, even voluntarily.

You also go under DM if you are already broken and:

a) you're attacked by White Phosphorus

b) you're attacked with "enough FP to possibly inflict a NMC on the target" (even if the firing unit cowers). Ordnance must secure a hit to be considered an 'attack'

c) you're in a Location attacked by an effective (1 or 2 result) Sniper

d) a Known enemy unit becomes ADJACENT to you (even if the enemy unit Moves on, even if it is an enemy unit advance)

Casualty Reduction alone does not cause you to go DM. A77.302 (first edition) says "A squad is reduced to a HS with the same broken/non-broken status of the squad it was Reduced from.."
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.