Max Reismann
Germany
flag msg tools
Hi geeks,

I guess, this has been asked a hundreds times, however I cannot find anything in the forum. So please be so kind and tell me a proper link or tell me the right answer right away ...

My question:

Upon the initial bidding (during the alternative start of the game), is the discovery tile of the Carrabian (the one the player with the highest bid wins) played face up or face down?
So, does the bidding players know how much money can be earned by winning the Carrabian discovery tile or do they have to guess?

Thanks for your help.

BTW: I think getting 2nd place in the bidding, when your bid was 8$ or more is acceptable, as you can get back 5$ by your extra specialist (a merchant shipped to the new world), that way aquire enough for a capital building in the first round. However, I think it is bad to get the first place and paying 8$ or more as it gets hard to gather enough money for capital building (merchant in second round + a few $ via Carribian). Any comments on that are welcome!


JokerOne






 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Doesn't the rules answer this already?

Quote:
For discovering the Caribbean, the player receives the Spanish Dollars shown on the discovery counter (since no soldiers were involved
in the expedition there is no soldier plundering bonus for this discovery) and places the discovery counter face up in front of himself
(all future discovery counters are placed face up in front of the discovering player as well so that they can keep track of the Victory
Points). The discovering player places one colonist (not a specialist) in the Caribbean. This colonist does NOT count as one of the five
starting colonists.


Or do you mean is it face-up prior to bidding?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
I looked in the FAQ and didn't see a definitive answer. I never played with the alternate start so I can only put forward an uneducated opinion.

I would say it starts face down before the bid. All other Discovery tiles placed on the board start off face-down and no one knows the value until they attempt to discover it.

All the variant is trying to accomplish is a less random turn order and reward the highest bidder with the "extra" Discovery token that isn't used normally. But I don't think this should be public info as it still needs to be discovered by the player. Part of the risk of bidding high is getting a skunk of a discovery. Showing that info levels the playing field too much in my opinion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Reismann
Germany
flag msg tools
Thanks for your quick answer. I completly agree with your view on the rule and the consequences. I just wanted to make sure that my interpretation of the rule is the one that is intended.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.