Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Agricola» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mushroom collector + reed-stone-wood question: rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike K
United States
Fairless Hills
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This came up recently in a game.

If the Mushroom Collector occ is in play and that player chooses the reed-stone-wood space (only in a 5pl game), he IS allowed to leave the wood and take 2 food; this is explicitly allowed in the rules.

Here's the question: does that wood accumulate for the next player? (In this case, the next user of the 'rsw' space would get 2 wood.)

I am fairly convinced that the wood would NOT accumulate, but I was pretty much shot down by the guy who played the M.C. and didn't want to cause an argument; we played that it did accumulate. I just want to know for the future.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eugene van der Pijll
Netherlands
Leidschendam
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Coyotek4 wrote:
If the Mushroom Collector occ is in play and that player chooses the reed-stone-wood space (only in a 5pl game), he IS allowed to leave the wood and take 2 food; this is explicitly allowed in the rules.

You are only allowed to use the Mushroom Collector if you use a space on which wood is lying. There is only reed lying on the RSW space, so you are not allowed to use the Mushroom Collector on this space.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garry Rice
United States
Perkasie
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep...what Eugene said...only the reed is actually lying on that space (and accumulates). The stone and wood are both taken from the supply when someone takes that space. As such, there is no wood to be left (it could never accumulate).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Shields
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not to beat a dead horse here, but the rule of thumb is that if a card says you have to leave a resource on a space for it to activate, then there has to have actually been a physical resource marker there to leave.

The "take 1" spaces will never trigger those cards.

For example in 3-player, if you have the mushroom collector you cannot go to the "Take one of any resource" space, say you're taking wood, and then leave the wood there and actually take two food. Since there's no wood to leave, you can't use the mushroom collector. The reed-stone-wood space is the same.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike K
United States
Fairless Hills
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pijll wrote:
Coyotek4 wrote:
If the Mushroom Collector occ is in play and that player chooses the reed-stone-wood space (only in a 5pl game), he IS allowed to leave the wood and take 2 food; this is explicitly allowed in the rules.

You are only allowed to use the Mushroom Collector if you use a space on which wood is lying. There is only reed lying on the RSW space, so you are not allowed to use the Mushroom Collector on this space.

Then there must be a typo in the rulebook; under the appendix for the Mushroom Collector, it actually states that it does work with the 5-player reed-stone-wood space. But I agree with the consensus that the wood is never actually 'on' the board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eugene van der Pijll
Netherlands
Leidschendam
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Coyotek4 wrote:
Then there must be a typo in the rulebook; under the appendix for the Mushroom Collector, it actually states that it does work with the 5-player reed-stone-wood space.

Not in the version that is on Z-man's website, or in the original German rulebook.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.