Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

B-29 Superfortress» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Latall
United States
Whittier
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
• The Design Notes for section 4.2 say that there are 3 pressurized cabins, the cockpit (Bomb, Nav, Flight Eng, Radio Op, Pilot and Copilot), the gunner’s compartment (LG, RG, CFC, Radar Op) and the tail gunner’s compartment (TG). Bottom line, the notes say the Nose and Nav/Radio Area are together, but the B-29 Crew Placement Chart shows the Nose Area and the Nav/Radio Area as being different pressurized areas. The design notes also say there’s a tunnel that connects the 2 front areas, but the games rules say you can only travel from the Nav/Radio Area (not the Nose Area) to the Waist Area, by tunnel. Why the discrepancy?
• 4.2.B says “Voluntary depressurization (but not repressurization is also possible if there is any functioning crewmember in the pilot position…”. What about the copilot position or possibly even the bombardier position? Can they do this as well since they’re in the same area? If the pilot becomes SW or KIA, is the copilot the pilot or does he stay as the copilot, i.e. can he depressurize if he wants to? Does he take injuries for being in the copilot position, not the pilot?
• 4.5.C.4 - What does it mean when it says “(including the current Zone, see the Mission Log Sheet)”? It makes it sound like you might add +1 if you’re Off Course in the current zone, but you’re only making this roll because you got back On Course.
• 4.8.E Can you keep trying for a successful rendezvous with fighter escorts as long as you’re On Course and in Formation? Or should you limit it to 1 extra attempt if the first attempt fails?
• 5-5 “Subtract 1 if the attacking fighter didn’t score any hits or if the B-29 took Evasive Action.” Can both of them apply at the same time or is there a maximum -1 modifier?
• Japanese Urban Area Target Damage Sheet – It says to cross off the smaller cities after one “on target” U/A mission. So for the cities in Table 1 and Table 2 on the Sheet, do you need to have an On Target mission, instead of rolling on table 9-1? Or do you roll on 9-1 as for the bigger targets, and check off the smaller targets the same?
• After you return and roll for a crewman that’s frostbitten and he dies, is he coded DOW, KIA or what?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrzej Fiett
Poland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
klatall wrote:
• The Design Notes for section 4.2 say that there are 3 pressurized cabins, the cockpit (Bomb, Nav, Flight Eng, Radio Op, Pilot and Copilot), the gunner’s compartment (LG, RG, CFC, Radar Op) and the tail gunner’s compartment (TG). Bottom line, the notes say the Nose and Nav/Radio Area are together, but the B-29 Crew Placement Chart shows the Nose Area and the Nav/Radio Area as being different pressurized areas. The design notes also say there’s a tunnel that connects the 2 front areas, but the games rules say you can only travel from the Nav/Radio Area (not the Nose Area) to the Waist Area, by tunnel. Why the discrepancy?

Bombardier/pilots compartment and navigator/engineer/radio op. compartment were connected and made one pressurized cabin. This cabin was connected with waist area by tunnel above both bomb bays. Photos will make this clear:


Radio operator position on the right, navigator position on the left. Pilots positions in the background




Two photos of nose pressure cabin (model of B-29)


Another photo of model. You can see nose cabin and pressurized tunnel above bomb bays


Complete pressurized nose section with mouth of the tunnel (of course this is not Enola Gay)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrzej Fiett
Poland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
klatall wrote:
• 4.2.B says “Voluntary depressurization (but not repressurization is also possible if there is any functioning crewmember in the pilot position…”. What about the copilot position or possibly even the bombardier position? Can they do this as well since they’re in the same area? If the pilot becomes SW or KIA, is the copilot the pilot or does he stay as the copilot, i.e. can he depressurize if he wants to? Does he take injuries for being in the copilot position, not the pilot?

You can (and should!) shift crewmembers in emergency. So it's up to you if you move copilot on pilot (who is KIA) seat and, say, engineer on copilot seat.

You just should have man in right place and in right time to make some actions - in your example any crewmember in pilot position.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.