Subject: Random Map Setup or Scenarios? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jean-marc Thibault
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I recently ordered this expansion on Amazon and am looking forward to sharing it with my fellow Settlers players.

One thing that was not clear to me is the scenarios. First of all, having only played the core Catan game, I am new to the idea of scenarios. What I know is that the scenarios are pre-setup tile layouts that offer balanced and interesting matches.

My question is this: Are scenarios the only way to play Seafarers, or can you randomly create a balanced map like in the previous game?

The reason I was wondering is because scenarios appear fairly limited and I know that the random variable maps are part of what make Catan a favorite among my friends.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DC
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
You can definitely create random map setups, and even design your own scenarios. However, I recommend starting with one of the included scenarios. The reason is that random boards can end up very unbalanced (obviously, they haven't been tested!), and give one player a big advantage.

Of course, once you've tried it, there can be a lot of fun in mixing up a bunch of land and ocean tiles, and seeing what happens.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave
United States
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes and no.

Yes, scenarios are the only way to play Seafarers. But no, because one of the scenarios (at least in the edition I have -- latest American) is an open one for you to create the map you want.

But "scenarios" and "tile layouts" are two different things. The scenarios are new sets of rules to be played with recommended layouts. You can call them "variants" if you want, but scenarios is a better descriptor. The different scenarios are all fun and offer a lot of variety to Settlers.