Filip W.
Sweden
Linköping
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Euros are better with dice!
mbmbmbmbmb
This is something I come up against on occasion when I tell people that I'm a writer and/or game designer: "Dude, I've got this great idea, it will make millions. I'll share it with you and we'll get rich/we'll split the profits/you'll pay me a reasonable sum up front/other inane comment."

Here's a way to find out what your idea is worth from Schlock Mercenary's Howard Tayler.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke Morris
England
Faversham
Kent
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Your game idea is most likely worth minus money.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
José Antonio Rivero
Spain
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
Gran Canaria- Canary Islands
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I could not agree more with that article. Ideas are very good but they have no value (at least monetary ) if they do not create anything tangible, that you can use, touch, read, listen, etc.
Or course everything starts with an idea, and they have a relative importance but after all it is what you make with ideas which is valuable and not the ideas per se.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Phillips
United States
Greensboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
To wax philosophical (in a Platonic vein) for a moment, Ideas are Forms. They shape the universe. They have value in the most basic sense imaginable: i.e. if there were no intellectual content to a thing, it would not exist. It would be a zero.

BUT

Ideas that correspond to nothing in reality are not Forms; they're fantasies. A notion that has never become incarnate, and never will become incarnate, isn't an Idea. It's just an idea. It's just your imagination.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marc lecours
Canada
ottawa
ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb