Finland
Raseborg
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
I release my anger through writing.
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been owning Dixit for a couple of months, but it just never hits the table. Usually only play mano-a-woman with the wife when at home. So it goes.

Last night my sister with her hubby was visiting, and while they're all avid fans of Ticket to Ride: Europe, it was getting late, they had to get up early, and I took this as an argument to bring out Dixit, seeing as it has short rules, no downtime and it just might be fun. They were doubting me (I'm looking at you wifey) but I persevered and got my way!

I started to explain the rules, made a total mess out of it (I am always the designated rulesexplainer, and I suck at it), and then did a trial turn instead and everyone got it, except for points distribution, but really, you don't need to know that anyway, just keep the rules on the table until you know them by heart and off you go.

We wanted a short and quick game, due to time constraints, so there was very little talking at first, but as we neared the middle of the pack people were beginning to say how much they liked the game. We didn't try and talk each other into voting any which way (not sure if that's kosher) which is a tactic that I'm probably going to try next time, seeing as this time around my clues were way too easy, and I was way way behind the others in points most of the time.

When we finished it seems like everyone wanted another round, but again, it was getting late so we tucked in for the night. I'm sure Dixit will hit the table again soon, wife's already telling me we have to invite some people over so we can play it again. I'm not sure how this works into my swinging-scheme, but I guess it's a step in the right direction.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Green
United States
Alameda
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb