In the Cathedral section, the rules say:
If their movement ends on a space already occupied by another player's painter they have to decide whether to stop on the next empty space behind or in front of the occupied space. No space in the victory track may ever be occupied by more than 1 figure.
This may seem straightforward enough, but still I am confused. If their movement would end on an occupied space, is the player allowed to move their master painter further on the victory point track than the number of victory points they just earned? If they are, why would they ever elect to move fewer spaces on the victory point track? If they are not, why is this presented as a choice?