Brian Tanner
United States
Odenton
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey all,

Firstly some background =D:
This is my first review here on BGG. Please let me know how it is. If you say "this sucks" I won't get offended, but try to be constructive and tell me why it sucks =).

Warhammer Invasion is my first LCG. I do not have a lot of experience with card games. I have played Magic: The Gathering for a long time, but only causally. That is the only CCG/TCG I have played, so some of this review might reference things in Magic. Also, I know my camera sucks and that I am not good at photography, but oh well =P. I also never played the Warhammer miniatures game, or am very familiar with the Warhammer universe.

Alright, on to the review!

For those who just want the verdict: Warhammer Invasion is a great game. I highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of strategic card games, or for anyone who likes fun things and happiness in general.

For everyone else who wants to read:

Warhammer: Invasion is a Limited Living Card Game (LCG) produced by Fantasy Flight Games. The selling point of an LCG is that their is no buy blind model (think booster packs in MTG). Fantasy Flight quite frequently releases new expansion/blister packs of cards (called battle packs), in which every card that can be found is listed. This eliminates the chance for their to be "uber expensive OMG win cards" that plague other CCGs like Magic. With this model, a player knows exactly what they will get with each pack, and as such can purchase only packs with cards they are interested.

First we'll start with the components and what's in the box:

This is everything that is inside the box (yes those are Magic the Gathering starter deck boxes. I use them to hold my Warhammer decks).

You get:

4 capital boards, one for each faction
Chaos
Free Empire
Dwarf
Orc

With the Orc and Chaos being on the side of destruction, and the Dwarves and Free Empire being on the Alliance side.