Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Ergo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Updated Ergo Rules PDF rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Randall Bills
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
The free rules sheet PDF for Ergo, located at http://catalystgamelabs.com/pdfs/Ergo_Rules_LO.pdf, has been updated to include all known errata.

Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wood
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christine W

Texas
msg tools
There's at least one remaining error. At the end of the sample round, it states that player A receives 11 points while D would get 12.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarrod
United States
California
flag msg tools
Spectatrix wrote:
There's at least one remaining error. At the end of the sample round, it states that player A receives 11 points while D would get 12.


And the board at the end is also wrong. The turn description says that one tabula rasa card is played to remove a NOT, though two NOTs are missing from the previous round.

Damn it, Ergo, I really wanted to like you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Sivak
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
I have a question about the example given in the "PARENTHESES" section. It states the following:

"A•B THEN C
is the same as
(A•B) THEN C
but is different than
A•(B THEN C)"

However, the section "OPERATOR CARDS: THE ORDER OF OPERATIONS" says that "the THEN card has the strongest cohesive connection", so shouldn't

A•B THEN C
be interpreted as
A•(B THEN C)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Smeltzer
United Kingdom
Leeds
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You'd think a three-year-old game with a two page rulebook would be free of errors. Anyway, the one Joe pointed out is still there, but there's a different one in the example game - they claim A and D are proven, when in fact C and D are. If they removed the not from the other line in turn 10 they'd be fine, surely, because modus tollens gives ¬B, and a disjunctive syllogism gives A.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
laconic lagomorph
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmb
I have just worked out that the rules error occurs in Turn 10. If a NOT is removed from premise 2 and premise 3 then the truth table for (A v B) & (B -> C) & ~C & D is as below. Thus A and D can be proven.

A B C D | (A v B) & (B -> C) & ~C & D
---------+-----------------------------
1 1 1 1 | 0
1 1 1 0 | 0
1 1 0 1 | 0
1 1 0 0 | 0
1 0 1 1 | 0
1 0 1 0 | 0
1 0 0 1 | 1
1 0 0 0 | 0
0 1 1 1 | 0
0 1 1 0 | 0
0 1 0 1 | 0
0 1 0 0 | 0
0 0 1 1 | 0
0 0 1 0 | 0
0 0 0 1 | 0
0 0 0 0 | 0

Unfortunately the Tabula Rasa card only allows one card to be removed, and the cards shown in the sample round disagree with the outcome described.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.