Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
KAS
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
I really want to mount this map onto a board, but wasn't sure what the best way is to do it since I have never done it before. I was thinking of picking up an old game board from a thrift store and glueing it to that but wanted to see if anyone had any good ideas for this?

Thanks

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Harrison
United States
Cleveland
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.gamesonthebrain.com
badge
www.gamesonthebrain.com
I just use a plexiglass sheet on top.

I've never mounted one so I'm afraid I can't give you any tips.

The only problem I see is that 22x17 is probably not a standard gameboard size, so it might be tricky to find one that works.

Perhaps you should just start harassing publishers like Zman or RGG to license it! ;-)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Eugene
Oregon
msg tools
mb
If you're willing to cut the board up into four sections, mounting wouldn't be a difficult process. I've done this many times with redesigned boards, using adhesive-backed vinyl flooring as the mounting material. These can be found quite cheaply at home improvement stores.

Here's an example:

This is a one-piece, quad-fold board. It requires two inside folds and one outside fold. I use thin clear packaging tape to join the section folds together. The inside folds are the only parts that requires finesse. Once you get the technique down, a board like this can be constructed in about 20 minutes.

The example above was made from a pdf split into four equal pieces and printed on individual letter-size card stock. Perhaps Tim Harrison would consider offering to send you a pdf of the board, allowing you to try your hand at this without the danger of destroying your original paper map.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Eugene
Oregon
msg tools
mb