Joel Mayeski
Thailand
Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
I was curious how I compared with others when it came to how I went about designing games (frequency, type, play test amount, etc). So I figured why not start a thread about it to generate some discussion...

I've been keeping track of my design ideas for the past 7 months, writing them down in a Word file and logging the plays on BGG - here are the results:

Game design avg: 8.57 per month - I design about 3 to 4 in a couple days time and then go onto refine them over the next week plus and then inspiration hits again in another week or so it seems.

Number of prototypes created: 1.43 per month

Games play tested: 0.86 per month (its tough "forcing" friends to try out prototype games more often than this!)

Games submitted to BGG
: 0.14 per month (1) - this isn't my best game idea, but probably the simplest I've come up with and since I wanted to see how the process went I decided to submit it. (*Warning - shameless self promotion to follow* -- I'd totally appreciate it if you'd check the game out and let me know what you think: Circle's Winner - it only requires printing one page so it's very quick and simple)

Favorite Genre: Space/Science Fiction

Favorite Mechanic: Bidding

Biggest Problem
: My biggest problem is that I'm always moving onto the next idea I have before refining the ones I've play tested!

Well that being said I'd love to hear from others on how you go about designing games and what some of your answers are to the items I've listed above or even other questions you'd like to see others answer.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenny VenOsdel
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb