Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Horus Heresy (2010)» Forums » Rules

Subject: some questions after our first session rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mark horneff
United Kingdom
london
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The game plays really well and we had a blast, however there are some nagging questions, Hoping you can help.

When does the blood angel hero add the damage from having blood angels with him ? It refers to inflict damage so is this before the other player has a chance to play cards to defend or after?

is the khan not effected by activation markers? it seemed to use he can keep fighting as long as another unit starts a combat in another area with an order card, it didnt seem to matter that his area was already activated from a previous combat his power just lets him up an join another fight.

In general when do hero abilities come in effect, do they happen before you draw cards? a lot of them effect your combat rank ( called rating on one of the hero cards) some of them cancel each other out ( adding or subtracting from rank)

Whose heros powers activate first?

When a combat card refers to a units rank but you have multiple ranks in a combat, whose rank is it referring to ? for example it might say lower than this units rank?

Thanks for the help

Dec

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Zamzow
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
I already answered your inquiries in your FFG thread:
http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?e...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Engstrom
United States
Mount Prospect
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Grey Dolphin Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
decaramas wrote:

When does the blood angel hero add the damage from having blood angels with him ? It refers to inflict damage so is this before the other player has a chance to play cards to defend or after?


When you total your regular combat damage from combat cards as active player, you add this bonus damage in to that total.

decaramas wrote:

is the khan not effected by activation markers? it seemed to use he can keep fighting as long as another unit starts a combat in another area with an order card, it didnt seem to matter that his area was already activated from a previous combat his power just lets him up an join another fight.


Use the rules on page 25 for flying units joining battles, but take note of two things:
1) He cannot fly over enemy areas, and thus can be blocked from reacting.
2) page 20: "units in an already-activated area may not act (move, attack, etc.) due to the execution of a new order until activation markers are removed from the board."

decaramas wrote:

In general when do hero abilities come in effect, do they happen before you draw cards? a lot of them effect your combat rank ( called rating on one of the hero cards) some of them cancel each other out ( adding or subtracting from rank)

Only the Emperor and horus's abilities trigger after rawing cards (and Sanguinius's as well).

decaramas wrote:

Whose heros powers activate first?

Good question. The only powers that would ever conflict are Dorn, Fabricator, Magnus, Mortaion and Fulgrim.
Combat steps:
1) Joining Battle. The battle has begun. The Fabricator General triggers if he is being attacked.
2) Engage Units
1) The attacker designates engaged units. At the same time, the defender's units become engaged.
A) Fulgrim triggers because he has 'entered battle'.
B) Mortarion's power now triggers before Dorn, because his power states that it occurs before other effects on enemy unit rank.
C) Dorn's power triggers.
3) Preparing to Fight Angron now uses his power.

The only major question is where Magnus fits into this. I think a wording fix could go a long way. I'd put him either between A + B or after C.

decaramas wrote:

When a combat card refers to a units rank but you have multiple ranks in a combat, whose rank is it referring to ? for example it might say lower than this units rank?


Refers to the unit that executes the special ability.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark horneff
United Kingdom
london
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys,

The issue we have with Khan is that the rules state a figure in an activated area cannot attack or move, it then goes on to explain that this can happen by mean other than an order card, sky fortress is the example given. So the question to clarify khan is whether a heros power is included in this exception, or does it not trigger, as an order was used to trigger it and then the activations restrictions come into play.

Quote:
Good question. The only powers that would ever conflict are Dorn, Fabricator, Magnus, Mortaion and Fulgrim.
Combat steps:
1) Joining Battle. The battle has begun. The Fabricator General triggers if he is being attacked.
2) Engage Units
1) The attacker designates engaged units. At the same time, the defender's units become engaged.
A) Fulgrim triggers because he has 'entered battle'.
B) Mortarion's power now triggers before Dorn, because his power states that it occurs before other effects on enemy unit rank.
C) Dorn's power triggers.
3) Preparing to Fight Angron now uses his power.

The only major question is where Magnus fits into this. I think a wording fix could go a long way. I'd put him either between A + B or after C.

This seems to make sense to me, we came up with something similar ourselves. So it looks like all powers are activated before cards are drawn.

Thanks again
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
decaramas wrote:
Thanks guys,

The issue we have with Khan is that the rules state a figure in an activated area cannot attack or move, it then goes on to explain that this can happen by mean other than an order card, sky fortress is the example given. So the question to clarify khan is whether a heros power is included in this exception, or does it not trigger, as an order was used to trigger it and then the activations restrictions come into play.


Looking at Khan's power it clearly states that he can only use his power "When an Imperial attack order is executed and a target area is identified."

Only an order card, not an event card, triggers his power.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antigonus Monophthalmus
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
drmabuse00 wrote:
Looking at Khan's power it clearly states that he can only use his power "When an Imperial attack order is executed and a target area is identified."

Only an order card not an event card triggers his power.


Also his power specifically states it is like how Thunderbirds engage, and since they are restricted by the activation tokens so is his power.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Söderberg
Sweden
Gothenburg
flag msg tools
mbmb
decaramas wrote:

Use the rules on page 25 for flying units joining battles, but take note of two things:
1) He cannot fly over enemy areas, and thus can be blocked from reacting.




and why can't he go past enemy areas when all flying units can?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
abel_set wrote:
decaramas wrote:

Use the rules on page 25 for flying units joining battles, but take note of two things:
1) He cannot fly over enemy areas, and thus can be blocked from reacting.




and why can't he go past enemy areas when all flying units can?


He still has to abide by normal movement restrictions.

His ability allows him to move in the same timeframe as flying vehicles.

He does not become one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Söderberg
Sweden
Gothenburg
flag msg tools
mbmb
This is a question of interpretation i think. The rules on the sheet clearly states "follow the same -rules- flying units do when they engage from a distance". However they don't give an example of flying over enemy units in that chapter, but flying units normally can, right. So maybe the Khan can in this special case too? there's really no solid proof of how the designers intended it to bee i think.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I know thematic POV is pretty much always a poor argument, but in this case, I think it simulates Khan's abilities for lauching sneak/lightning raids from a distance. In effect while flyers go over the enemy units to engage, Khan and WS sneak through enemy held regions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Kelly
United States
Richardson
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dam the Man wrote:
In effect while flyers go over the enemy units to engage, Khan and WS sneak through enemy held regions.

Agreed!
TK
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex H.
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
welcome your reptilian overlords!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And now the recently published FAQ rules that the Khan can move through enemy areas with his special ability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Delta 5.56
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
alex352 wrote:
And now the recently published FAQ rules that the Khan can move through enemy areas with his special ability.


Where in the FAQ does it state that? I just read it again and cant find anything like that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.