Matthew Nadelhaft
Scotland
Edinburgh
Scotland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Following my Jimmy-Carter-like period as Geek of the Week (short and not very popular, but hopefully remembered with some fondness later on by a handful fo people), I'm cohosing as the next GotW a fellow microgame enthusiast and designer, (and, I just noticed, another Einsturzende Neubauten fan!) Brian Train. Here's what Brian has to say about himnself:

Quote:
I have been playing wargames since 1979, when I was 15 years old. My introduction came when my favourite uncle sent me a copy of Tactics II for Christmas. I don't think my parents ever forgave him.

I have been designing games since 1991. As far as I know, I was the first or only one to design games (at least in English) on many of the subjects or situations I have chosen (e.g. the Chinese Cultural Revolution, the Algerian War, the 1848 revolutions, Latin American guerrilla wars, etc. etc.). I am very interested in the area where politics and the military cross paths, and like to design games on asymmetrical conflicts with a large amount of politics in them.

I have a large collection, but not a lot a lot of time to play right now. Much of my collection serves as a reference library, but there are still a lot of games I'd like to enjoy as games too. Some of my favourites are Minuteman, King of the Tabletop, Battle for Germany, The Awful Green Things From Outer Space, Go, The Creature That Ate Sheboygan, Nicaragua, Beda Fomm, Ogre, Melee, and Raid!

I'll start things off for brian with some questions about his work.

Brian, welcome to GotW-hood, and I hope your reign goes well. You've created and publsiehd several games about offbeat subjects, including the fabulous Battle of Seattle. Did you live in Seattle at the time of those vents, and if you did, could you give us your perspective on them? if you didn't, what moved you to create that game?