Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Tanner
United States
Odenton
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello fellow board gamers,

I am new to writing reviews, this being only my second one here on the geek. This is my review of the card game Summoner Wars. If you have any tips, advice, criticisms on my reviews (or how to write them) please let me know =D. If you think it sucks, at least tell me why =).

There are 2 sets out right now, Goblins vs Dwarves and Phoenix Elves vs Tundra Orcs.

The set I will be talking about is Phoenix Elves vs Tundra Orcs, though all the rules and such are the same for either game, just the decks that come with the sets are different.

For those who just want my verdict without all the reading: This is an excellent card game. Very cheap to get, easy to learn, fast playing, but with enough strategy to keep it from being too simple or getting stale too fast.

For those who want to know why, read on:

Overview:

Summoner wars it a strategy card game where 2 players (or 4 if you have 2 different Summoner Wars sets) use their decks to summon fighters onto the battlefield. The end goal is to kill the opposing player's summoner. Many people have compared it to a simplified miniatures game without the miniatures.

What comes in the box:

- A nice full color Rule book with examples
- 5 six sided dice
- Double sided wound markers (representing 1 or 3 wounds)
- 2 thirty card decks, one for the Phoenix Elves and one For the Tundra Orcs
- Reference cards for both players
- A foldout grid based battlefield / playing map