West Malling
Kent
flag msg tools
designer
Nothing to see here. Please move on
badge
It's about time!
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been working, over the past few months on an AI programme which can simulate opponents in a game of WK. I am by no means a programmer and therefore my attempt is a little simplistic. Add to that the fact that it is written in a combination on Excel and Visual basic. However, it appears to be able to simulate mst elements of the game including:

Choice of stronghold position at set -up, secret missions and several random characteristics which result in AI players having different stances towards other players and certain decisions including risk taking vs risk averse for example.
I have also added 4 difficulty levels which impact the interaction.
Voting on Assembly Agenda items (all cards mapped with the exception of private motions)
Decisions to Muster Forces, Draft Mercs, Fund expeditions, choose players to take church cards and purchase advancements
Decide on which opponents to target and therefore which action cards to play.

The main "issue" is the requirement to enter data on a turn-by-turn basis as the programme uses a combination of data entered, AI characteristics and random numbers to make decisions.

Most elements of the original game and the expansion are included. However, I would welcome comments on whether people think such a programme is useful and what barriers there may be to distribution,

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Schulzetenberg
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd certainly try it, and depending on how intuitive the UI is, it might be useful to give to players so that they understand how the rules work before their first game.