Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

StarCraft: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: explaining the battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel
Australia
Stratton
Western Australia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
can someone explain how the battle system works in this game, inc splash damage and special abilities. maybe even give some senarios to help me understand.

i have had this game for over 6 months now and still am yet to play a game, i cant seem to get my head around the rule book. i recently purchased broodwars exp and am now more seriously looking at learning to play this. everyone says its a great game to play and its rated highly.

thanks guys
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just grab some dudes and two decks of cards and go for it. Set up the skirmishes as described in the rules, draw some cards from the combat decks for each side. Lay one down for each skirmish. Play a second card behind if allowable. Reveal cards, count up supports, resolve effects, go to next skirmish.

No way to come to grips with it without just playing it out.

Probably was a video back in the day at FFG showing a combat.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ragh Gavar
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rulebook explains it pretty well and even has examples. It could probably only make more sense if someone was there showing you step by step.

What, in particular, are you having trouble understanding?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel
Australia
Stratton
Western Australia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
how do you acquire conquest points? do you add 1 points for each area you control with a point in it at the end of each regrouping and what happens when you lose that unit on that area do you then start taking away points????.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klaudius Kalcher
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
Lynx
badge
Lynx
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once you have gained Conquest Points, you'll never lose them again. If, for example, at the start of one regrouping step, you have 11 conquest points and hold 3 areas containing one conquest point each, you'll have 14 conquest points at the end of the regrouping phase.

(There is a Jim Raynor Leadership Card in the Brood War Expansion that has the effect that the other players lose 2 CP each, but this really is the only exception to the general rule that you never lose conquest points)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel
Australia
Stratton
Western Australia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
so if you keep the same unit on the area with 1 CP in it you gain the same CP again the next regrouping fase and this continues each regrouping, is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that is correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel
Australia
Stratton
Western Australia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
what are those little white circles in each area??? are they the total number of units allowed in that area? what is the maxium number your allowed in an area.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DanThe Man wrote:
what are those little white circles in each area??? are they the total number of units allowed in that area? what is the maxium number your allowed in an area.
With the yellow stuff inside? Yes, that's the area unit limit. You can't have more units in that area than number of circles. The exception is when you move into the are to attack, when you are allowed to enter with up to two more units than the limit. And remember the limit is for each player, so if there are four units in an area with limit four, an attacker can still move up to 6 units into the area.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.