Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

EuroFront II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Allied SHQ command on the East Front? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Filip W.
Sweden
Linköping
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Euros are better with dice!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We're in a situation where the British would really need to move units into Tehran but what happens then? As there are no Allied SHQ:s capable of commanding units in the Eastern Front, would the unit be stuck in Tehran or could it be moved by some other means?

Also, are Allied units ever allowed on Soviet ground or inside Russia?

On an unrelated note: Mountain units only fire DF in mountains, not tundra, right? Also, does cavalry move 2 through tundra?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Besinque
Canada
New Denver
BC
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
filwi wrote:
We're in a situation where the British would really need to move units into Tehran but what happens then? As there are no Allied SHQ:s capable of commanding units in the Eastern Front, would the unit be stuck in Tehran or could it be moved by some other means?

Also, are Allied units ever allowed on Soviet ground or inside Russia?

On an unrelated note: Mountain units only fire DF in mountains, not tundra, right? Also, does cavalry move 2 through tundra?


Filip,

Allied HQs (including SHQs) can command the relevant national units on any front (same for Soviet HQs/STAVKA). Only the German SHQs have EF/WF command restrictions.

Allied units are not prohibited from Soviet territory but cannot enter hexes containing Soviet units (nor vice-versa: see 20.34 and 20.53).

Mountain units fire DF/DF anywhere in the North Front (21.45).

Cavalry is prohibited from the NF (21.415).

Craig
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Filip W.
Sweden
Linköping
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Euros are better with dice!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! That DF/DF for mountain units is a Godsend right now (I really must get the next session report written up...)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alberto Natta
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yes, MNT units fires always DF/DF in the North Front.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
José Luis Villarig
Spain
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
One quick question: What would happen if a Soviet unit entered Southern Persia or Iraq? Being that MF, that unit would lose two steps as it is an alien unit. And given that no 5 PPs can be deducted from any asignation as Soviets don't assign PPs to MF, that unit would die next production?

Is that true?

If that is true, we have a curious thing: Soviets can never, even if they want, re-take the MF, even if they make it very very good on their war against an Axis that has captured the MF.

(That, also, leaves with a curious question on the Finist it, Ike! scenario of Allied VS Soviets (remember: no German side on that one, just a Hot Cold War): some rule should be used so that if you use that sections of the map, they play any role appart from taking units out of there: "as no Soviet units can survive there... I take my units out of there and use them somewhere else").
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.