Recommend
9 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Arcana» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Board to Death Video Review rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yoki Erdtman
Sweden
Södertälje
flag msg tools
badge
Handsome devil huh?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Board to Death TV reviews Arcana.



They give it 8.5 out of 10 and summarize the game thusly.

What's Cool:
Nice artwork and theme.
Fun element of bluffing.
Great "Zone" concept.
Portable & Easy to teach.
Good player interaction.

What's Not:
Each guild cards have the same artwork.

P.S. I have permission to post the Board to Death reviews at this site.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cain
United States
Tacoma
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
The Evil-Do That I Do-Do
Avatar
mbmbmb
The Relic/Bribing rules are not explained correctly in this review.

You can never play more than one Relic onto a stake for bribing purposes (the video shows this happening in the example for bribing). A Relics Gold Value is added to all of the Peronalities' Arcanum Value (Main Arcanum of the Stake Card) played by the player. If the total of these two values is greater than the Gold Value of the Stake Card the Stake has been bribed by the player.

Oh, and just a side note that many people forget, only Personalities can be bribed in this fashion. It's kind of difficult to Bribe a Blunderbust.

Other than that a really excellent review of one of my favorite games.

LA
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Goran Topic
Japan
Kita-ku
Tokyo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
On the symbols:

Quote:
The staff is military power; the sword is political power; should have been the opposite but whatever


Traditional Tarot symbolism:

Wands: Fire; strength; action; speed
Swords: Air; intellect; debate; knowledge
Cups: Water; intuition; perception; spirit
Pentacles (aka Coins): Earth; mundane; trade
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
a b
msg tools
lastalchemist wrote:
The Relic/Bribing rules are not explained correctly in this review.
You can never play more than one Relic onto a stake for bribing purposes (the video shows this happening in the example for bribing).

(Page 10)
Relic Cards
* If the total is less than the Personality card's Ducat value, nothing happens. The Relic and all cards assigned to that District remain there and can be combined with another Relic or Agent on a future turn to bribe the Personality card.

Reading that IMO we can reuse the relic(s) from previous failed attempt(s) on future bribe.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.